CGTalk > Techniques > Modeling
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 10-31-2012, 10:53 AM   #1
Dantert
portfolio
Dario
milano, Italy

Smile How to make a good game character model?

Hi to all!!!
I saw a lot of amazing 3d game art here!
I really need to know what is the right workflow(or best/fast one) to make a game character.
I'm studying zbrush, xsi and other programs to know how to sculpt etc, but without knowing what's best I'm kind of lost..
I saw a lot of tutorials and searched for an answer but all seems different or incomplete...
I always changed the way I create characters to try and find my way but all I come out are other doubts about if what I'm doing is good or not.
My workflow actually is this:
1: making a concept, in zbrush, drawing it or copy something that I can.
2:Study the possible topology(how to do it)
3:Create a base mesh made(1 for all the character or 2 pieces if high poly or for body and changeble armor) in Softimage and import it in zbrush to adjust the forms.
4:export the mesh from zbrush and reimport it in xsi to make the uv's
5: reimport it in zbrush and detail it

This workflow present a lot of problems for me, for example the fact that if I modify the mesh then in high res in zbrush, like I add a little horn or something that goes too much out of the space of the base mesh, when I make the normal and the diffuse maps they seems too flat at that point so I had to retopologize all and project all the details.

Is this workflow correct? or there's a better/faster or safer way to work on a game model? I'd like to know what's your's!
Maybe I have to make the basic mesh in zbrush, and then retopologize all, make the uv of the retopo in softimage and then project the details in zbrush from the old mesh to the new one?