Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 09-26-2012, 01:11 AM   #1
Calnestitcher
portfolio
Marcos Huertas
Teaneck , USA

Hard Surface Modeling-suggestions needed

I am no engineer, far from it, but I would like to give a try on modeling individual parts for giant robots ^^ I am also a noob at modeling. The main software I use for modeling is zbrush, however, I found it to be very quirky and imprecise for my needs. I an a very very bad box modeler. I always wondered about nurbs. I would like my models to end up being as polygons though and modifying nurbs to polygons in maya leaves me with a very big mess. I haven't tried Maya subdivision surfaces yet but I've heard that T-Splines for Rhyno are better. Then again, I would want to import the final nurbs model from Rhyno into Maya and convert them to polygons and don't know how that will end up since I haven't obviously done any thing. What if I convert the nurbs surfaces to subDs and then to polygons as an extra step to get cleaner topology? I think I could always go to Modo and retopologize the converted meshes from nurbs. ( I'm getting student versions of all these programs ) Or should I just do the best I can using Maya subDs and convert them innto polygons or even leave them as subDs. So many choices I haven't tried. I would like some input from you guys before I try these methods. Mind you I don't have Rhyno nor the tspline plug in yet and don't even know whether I would even want or need it. I know these are very odd questions coming from a newby but please bear with me. ^^ Any thoughts a very appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Old 09-28-2012, 09:37 PM   #2
tburbage3
Frequenter

T. I. Burbage
Tech Artist, Indie Game Dev
tibdigital
Redwood City, USA