CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 11-01-2013, 10:04 AM   #1
janzak

Post Production level renderer for solo projects

Hey guys,
I've been using Mental Ray in Softimage for the past 5 years but after using Arnold I can't go back. I'm now looking for a renderer suited for single/two person projects, i.e. not Arnold since licensing is more expensive and it's built for larger projects.

At the moment I'm looking at Vray and Octane. Vray since it seems to be easy enough to get photo realistic renders (compared to MR) and Octane for its realtime previewing.

What I value is; fast lookdev, photo real rendering and streamlined tweakability. I'm willing to invest in a CUDA enabled GPU (Titan) if that would put Octane ahead.

Any other renderers for XSI you prefer for solo projects?

All thoughts much appreciated.
Jan

Old 11-02-2013, 12:27 AM   #2
lucericr
PRO

portfolio
Luc-Eric
Maya UI Team
Montreal, Canada

there are a couple of other renders for Softimage that are worth a look. 3Delight, and on the GPU side, there is RedShift. you can find more discussions about them on "si community".

Old 11-02-2013, 06:35 AM   #3
mantragora
Old Member

portfolio
To be, or not to be, TD ?
mantragora
hell, Antarctica

3Delight is overcomplicated compared to Arnold and RedShift is still in beta, I think. Switch to Modo .

EDIT: Oh, they released RedShift. Going to red some posts .

magic happens here... sometimes
go nodeway

Old 11-03-2013, 05:27 PM   #4
oktawu
visual stuff

Octavian
okto
Earth, Romania

Redshift has gone into open beta. As soon as they get their payment system in order, anyone will be able to access it. To be honest, right now, i'd say it is the best alternative for small studios / freelancers. Hands down.

Old 11-04-2013, 09:10 AM   #5
ViCoX
Coffee.

portfolio
Juhani Karlsson
3D artist
Talvi Digital
Helsinki, Finland

Send a message via MSN to ViCoX