CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage > ICE: Interactive Creative Environment
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2013, 07:34 PM   #1
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

ice - vertex world position

Hi all,

How can we get vertex's world position if we have the vertex index?

Thanks,
__________________
My blog
My vimeo
 
Old 02-18-2013, 07:48 PM   #2
ace63
Veteran
portfolio
Leo Quensel
Junior TD
Parasol Island
Mülheim an der Ruhr, Germany
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 65
Send a message via ICQ to ace63
Use the select in Array node with the Pointposition as the input array
 
Old 02-18-2013, 08:41 PM   #3
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

Quote:
Originally Posted by ace63
Use the select in Array node with the Pointposition as the input array


Thanks Leo

Another question:

How can I get data from one object and use those data to set data on other objects.

In my case I get this error:

context mismatch:
input context supported: per object or point of "cube.polymesh"
output context supported: per object or point of "sphere.polymesh"
__________________
My blog
My vimeo
 
Old 02-18-2013, 09:32 PM   #4
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,954
If the two objects are identical as far as mapping contexts go, IE: same topology in the case of geo, you can use the switch context node.
Otherwise you will have to establish the mapping differently, such as with a get closest location/point node (if they have different topologies, or even identical point counts and positions but differently ordered vertices).

I'm also moving this thread to the ICE subforum.
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 02-18-2013, 10:07 PM   #5
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

Quote:
If the two objects are identical as far as mapping contexts go, IE: same topology in the case of geo, you can use the switch context node.

Good to know this, thanks.

Quote:
Otherwise you will have to establish the mapping differently, such as with a get closest location/point node.

Closet point node is good but what if we want to find a vertex world position on a sphere and move a cube to that position?
__________________
My blog
My vimeo
 
Old 02-18-2013, 10:16 PM   #6
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,954
So you have a specific vertex you want to consider?
Why not use a cluster to filter it then if you need human intervention (which you will to identify the specific vertex), so you can set the kine of an object to the filtered pointpositions for the other.

Not that I would do that in ICE to be honest, a cluster constrain would probably be better in most cases, unless you're just finding yourself exercises to familiarize with ICE basics such as contexts, types, and moving between them.
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 02-19-2013, 07:51 AM   #7
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

Quote:
unless you're just finding yourself exercises to familiarize with ICE basics such as contexts, types, and moving between them.

Yes, it's definitely the case. As an exercise I wanted to create a rivet like constraint by creating a transform matrix from 3 vertices.
__________________
My blog
My vimeo
 
Old 02-19-2013, 07:51 AM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.