CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 01:54 PM   #1
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

Question How to compile Alembic for XSI on Win 64bit?

Hi everybody,

It's been a couple of days I'm trying to compile Alembic with no luck.

http://code.google.com/r/helgemathee-alembic-softimage/ are the source codes but compiling it doesn't seem to be easy.

Has anyone done this before?

If yes, can you share it with the rest us and/or show us how you did it?

Many thanks,
 
Old 12-27-2012, 07:04 AM   #2
oktawu
visual stuff
 
oktawu's Avatar
Octavian
okto
Earth, Romania
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 470
Would be interested to know this as well, as i have been getting only headaches trying to get
alembic files from c4d into xsi using the exocortex crate suite (and i doubt it's a limitation of the demo version).
Curiously, maya and houdini both read the files correctly, so it must be something wrong with the way crate reads the files.
__________________
Portfolio
Linkedin
 
Old 12-27-2012, 08:31 AM   #3
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

I'm not using Exocortex cause it's expensive. Other than that it doesn't seem to be a bad solution.

It's interesting that some generous people have compiled free Alembic plugin for Maya, Houdini, Max, ... but not for Softimage!

You can find codes here. You just need to compile it, but it's a bit confusing.
__________________
My blog
My vimeo
 
Old 12-28-2012, 08:51 AM   #4
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

Unhappy

Anyone here using Softimage Alembic other than Exocortex?!
__________________
My blog
My vimeo
 
Old 12-28-2012, 06:27 PM   #5
Bullit
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,305
The only Alembic for 3dsmax that i know is this http://www.dfx.co.jp/dftalk/?p=5916

but only moves meshes not point clouds. Any other?
 
Old 12-29-2012, 02:35 PM   #6
oktawu
visual stuff
 
oktawu's Avatar
Octavian
okto
Earth, Romania
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 470
I think exocortex offer a plugin for max in their crate suite as well.
Since we're at it, can anyone try to load a simple alembic file in xsi.
I've attached a zip file with it.
Maya, Houdini and Cinema 4D load it perfectly with their own alembic implementantion.
Crate screws it up in both maya and xsi.

PS. i'm using the demo version from the website, and it doesn't even read the animation.
I have to go into the alembic topo node and play with the time attribute to even make it work (and even that has nasty effects on the overall topology).
I'm pretty sure it's not a limitation of the demo. I actually thought about getting a license, but since this is not even working with a very basic file, i've started looking around for other solutions, and unfortunately, i haven't found any so far.
If anyone has any experience with the crate suite, maybe you could shed some light into this.

Thanx
Attached Files
File Type: zip MoText.zip (217.9 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Portfolio
Linkedin

Last edited by oktawu : 12-29-2012 at 02:43 PM.
 
Old 12-29-2012, 09:33 PM   #7
Bullit
Lord of the posts
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,305
Why not sending a mail to the makers of the plugin, they are the only ones that can help i think.
 
Old 12-30-2012, 08:52 AM   #8
oktawu
visual stuff
 
oktawu's Avatar
Octavian
okto
Earth, Romania
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 470
Couldn't find a support email, but i did apply for the list, so hopefully i'll get answers soon.

Thanx
__________________
Portfolio
Linkedin
 
Old 12-30-2012, 09:15 AM   #9
kanenas
Veteran
portfolio
Terry Kanenas
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 44
You're right about XSI importer not reading the animation data. Your scene is dead in the water.
The same scene somehow crashed Max 2013 PU6 on frame 7. I didn't bother to rerun it.
Maya 2013 SP2 had no problems with it.

All the above with default importer settings.

I tried to have a look at the open source alembic code you mentioned, but no luck.
Its build code depends on VS 2008 and I don't use this anymore. The VS 2010 I use, has changed the compile processor and it would take too much work to align with the alembic requirements.
I think I still have VS 2008 on an old XP machine. If so, I might try it if I get a chance.
Other than that it's a straightforward build (you only have to manually get the older zlib archive it needs).
 
Old 12-30-2012, 10:34 AM   #10
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanenas
I think I still have VS 2008 on an old XP machine. If so, I might try it if I get a chance.
Other than that it's a straightforward build (you only have to manually get the older zlib archive it needs).


for zlib, I found this page which contains these versions for Windows:

zlib for Windows CE
zlib for RIM BlackBerry
zlib for Windows 9x/NT/2000/XP/2003 (DLL version, plus related utilities)
zlib for Windows 9x/NT (DLL and static version)

I tried the last one but when I run init_all.cmd to compile the plugin, it gives me some errors again.

Can someone else please try to compile it , so that we could understand the problem better?
__________________
My blog
My vimeo
 
Old 12-30-2012, 02:01 PM   #11
oktawu
visual stuff
 
oktawu's Avatar
Octavian
okto
Earth, Romania
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 470
Quote:
You're right about XSI importer not reading the animation data. Your scene is dead in the water.


See, that's the really weird thing: it's a default cinema 4d alembic export, with a basic mograph text. I don't use max, but it seems to me that some applications have alembic integrated differently than others...which seems really strange to me, as technically, the abc file structure is fixed. I'm guessing the reader plugins are coded differently, which kinda defeats the purpose of alembic altogether, as the format was supposed to remain consistent throughout a pipeline, regardless of the application it's being read by.

At the same time, i have a couple of other example abc files from the net, which are being read perfectly by all applications, including crate in xsi, so that must mean that the way the file is written also varies with each implementation, which honestly brings back dreaded memories of fbx & obj hell.
__________________
Portfolio
Linkedin

Last edited by oktawu : 12-30-2012 at 02:06 PM.
 
Old 12-30-2012, 09:57 PM   #12
Benr
Frequenter
 
Benr's Avatar
portfolio
Ben Rogall
Madison, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 196
Since Helge Mathee is in charge of Crate from Exocortex, I would guess that the open-source version he put on Google Code is an early version of the one in Crate.
 
Old 12-31-2012, 12:20 AM   #13
kanenas
Veteran
portfolio
Terry Kanenas
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roham
for zlib, I found this page which contains these versions for Windows:

zlib for Windows CE
zlib for RIM BlackBerry
zlib for Windows 9x/NT/2000/XP/2003 (DLL version, plus related utilities)
zlib for Windows 9x/NT (DLL and static version)

I tried the last one but when I run init_all.cmd to compile the plugin, it gives me some errors again.

Can someone else please try to compile it , so that we could understand the problem better?


The page is the right one but you need to pick up the zlib source code in tar.gz format (halfway down the page).
The link will take you to the latest 1.2.7 but this will require even more changes to the build scripts.
So when you get to the download page, replace the two references in the URL, from 1.2.7 to 1.2.5.
You'll get: http://sourceforge.net/projects/lib...=ignum&download=

Copy the downloaded file into alembic's source code folder \thirdparty
Now run init_all.cmd and cross your fingers.
 
Old 01-03-2013, 08:25 AM   #14
Roham
Frequenter
portfolio
Ehsan Hassani Moghaddam
CG Artist
Animascope Animation Studio
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 138

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanenas
The page is the right one but you need to pick up the zlib source code in tar.gz format (halfway down the page).
The link will take you to the latest 1.2.7 but this will require even more changes to the build scripts.
So when you get to the download page, replace the two references in the URL, from 1.2.7 to 1.2.5.
You'll get: http://sourceforge.net/projects/lib...=ignum&download=

Copy the downloaded file into alembic's source code folder \thirdparty
Now run init_all.cmd and cross your fingers.


Thanks Terry,

I get no error on zlib after doing what you said, so thanks. But, I get some other errors complaining on 'toFloat.vcproj', 'eLut.vcproj' and 'joined.vcproj'.

Any ideas on that matter would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
__________________
My blog
My vimeo
 
Old 01-03-2013, 09:44 AM   #15
kanenas
Veteran
portfolio
Terry Kanenas
Montreal, Canada
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 44
My VS 2010 doesn't support .vcproj (that's a VS 2008 thing) so I can't look into it.

I didn't have a chance to get to vS 2008 computer yet, holidays and all.
First chance I get, I'll give it a try just out of curiosity. But after Benr's comment I don't expect any better results than Crate's.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.