CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2012, 12:22 AM   #1
polygonpusher
Veteran
portfolio
Sang Han
USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
trying to activate foundation 5

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to activate xsi foundation 5 on a new machine running windows 7 x64. When I start the program I get this panel

edit{image removed}

When I hit the "Request key" it opens up IE to the softimage page which has nothing to do with activation. So I tried emailing SoftImage.Licensing@autodesk.com and they replied with this:

G
reetings, Thank you for your email. Please note that this alias is used solely to process license requests for Softimage XSI, version7.0 and prior.



If you are a RESELLER, and require information on the Softimage customer base, please contact your Partner Manager.



If you are a software USER, and require information regarding the current version of Softimage, please contact your reseller.



If you are requesting a license for Softimage XSI, version7.0 and prior, we will respond to your email shortly. Please allow up to a 24 hour delay before receiving a response. If you havenít done so already, please provide the information requested below by responding back to this email.



1. Issue Type. Please choose the issue type that most accurately reflects your situation. If none of the below options describe your situation, please chose 'Other' and then provide a more detailed explanation in the Additional Comments field.



[ ] My system failed and I needed to reinstall the OS. Now my Host ID has changed and my license no longer works. I need a license for the attached request code. *

[ ] My system is being decommissioned. I need to transfer my license to the attached request code.

[ ] My dongle is broken. I need a new dongle and my license transferred to it. In the meantime, I would like a temporary license assigned to the attached request code.

[ ] I am running my 7.5 network/standalone license on a Linux machine and require a 7.5 SPM license for the attached request code.

[ ] I am a 7.5 customer but am still running a 7.0 project and therefore require a 7.0 SPM license for the attached request code.

[ ] I received my free upgrade to 7.5 but the quantity doesnít match what is reflected in my records.

[ ] I have not received a free upgrade to 7.5, but I believe I qualify.

[ ] Other.

* To generate a request code:



- Start the License Manager (click Start > All Programs > Softimage Products > License Manager).

- Click Manage Key Database.

- Click Generate Request Code.

- Click Save

- Send us the .req file (by default, it is saved in C:\spm)



2. Product & Quantity. Please specify the type and quantity of product that is affected by your issue.

[ ] Foundation

[ ] Essentials x ( )

[ ] Advanced x ( )

Other _________



Additional Comments. Please provide a more detailed explanation in the Additional Comments field.





3. License Information. Please provide any information that will help us track down your license in our database, i.e. Registration Code, reseller name, purchase date, purchase order number, a previous license file, etc.

I tried to fill out as much as possible but Foundation 5 didn't even install a license manager so couldn't generate a request code. After I sent the information, they just replied with the exact same email. Anyone else have this much trouble trying to get an older version of xsi activated? I'm starting to get the impression they just want me to give up and purchase the latest version. Any insight or help would be appreciated as I'm currently running it in evaluation mode.
__________________
My Blog: TheOtherSang

Last edited by ThE_JacO : 10-14-2012 at 09:58 PM. Reason: Image was reported as occasionally popping up a distasteful ad, removed it
 
Old 10-12-2012, 02:16 AM   #2
luceric
Frequenter
No longer user this account
Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 278
Autodesk no longer issues licenses for old versions of Softimage (actually Avid products)
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servle...3&siteID=123112
 
Old 10-12-2012, 07:57 AM   #3
runejw
errr... wussup?!...
 
runejw's Avatar
portfolio
Rune J. W.
Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 345
The above post is correct.

When AD bought Softimage they did not respect the concept of a "permanent license" for the former Softimage customers.
They discontinued the license server for "historic licenses" august last year - which also impacted my licensed version of XSI 7.01 Essential - $$$ down the drain...

We're talking "historical" in the sense that they discontinued activation of licenses for products less than 3 years old... (necessary whenever one changes a PC for example)
__________________
-per aspera ad astra

Last edited by runejw : 10-12-2012 at 08:04 AM.
 
Old 10-12-2012, 10:15 AM   #4
Ciuccio
Veteran
portfolio
Giovanni
Palermo, Italy
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 95
So my 2011 will "expired" in 2014?

I'm not aware about this... must search into my softimage box the expiring date.

But is a legal move?
 
Old 10-12-2012, 12:36 PM   #5
runejw
errr... wussup?!...
 
runejw's Avatar
portfolio
Rune J. W.
Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 345
The first version that AD made some code/subscription scheme for was the 7.5 version, so that version and all later versions should be safe with regards to license activation.

It's just the owners of "historical" Softimage products at the time of the purchase in oct 2008, that have been treated in an ethical bad - although perfectly legal - way.
__________________
-per aspera ad astra
 
Old 10-12-2012, 08:17 PM   #6
luceric
Frequenter
No longer user this account
Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 278
btw that embedded image pops up a porn ad. can a mod get rid of it please.
 
Old 10-13-2012, 02:01 AM   #7
polygonpusher
Veteran
portfolio
Sang Han
USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
That makes me like autodesk even less if that's possible. I've never been a fan of their business practices but this really sets a new low and just reinforces my increasingly cynical belief that the bad guys really do win in the end. I'm really surprised this is legal as my very limited understanding of the law leads me to believe that autodesk should be required to uphold whatever contractual obligations held by avid. This makes me wonder if at any point autodesk or any other software company can simply decide to deactivate software and start charging a monthly activation fee or do whatever else they want since no doubt they have a clause in the eula that they can make changes to it at any time. Sorry about the porn coming up. I'm using imagevenue and I have it set to family friendly. When I tried clicking on the image, nothing inappropriate came up. Thanks for the replies everyone.
__________________
My Blog: TheOtherSang
 
Old 10-13-2012, 03:30 AM   #8
luceric
Frequenter
No longer user this account
Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 278
As you know, nobody comes to your house and brakes the software; you're trying to transfer a node-locked license to a new PC.

XSI Foundation was like that, non-transferable, licenced to one system. That's one of the limitation you get for 500$ as opposed to having the 3000$ XSI that is tied to a USB hardware dongle instead. AFAIK the fact that support (after the automated system went down, if I recall) would help transfer that to a new system is not part of any agreement, it's just about avoiding alienating users, but also make it hard enough that people won't activate Foundation on multiple machines.

Avid/Softimage has part the blame here, because any system that relies on communicating to a specific web page on a specific server to activate is bound to fail eventually. Is it 6 years, 10 years? Servers, OSes, stuff changes in time. There are a lot of consumer software that only require you to enter a serial number and you're done, no need to phone home and ask for permission. There are alternatives.

What you got through all the years is a lot out usage of that 500$. The product was kind of meant to be disposable. XSI 5.11 is not compatible with Vista and Windows 7; glitches (like message box buttons not working) and crashes abound. It's an awesome version, rich and stable, but as non-trivial high tech app it's kind of frozen in time in 2005 Windows XP land.

Last edited by luceric : 10-13-2012 at 03:36 AM.
 
Old 10-14-2012, 05:08 PM   #9
runejw
errr... wussup?!...
 
runejw's Avatar
portfolio
Rune J. W.
Norway
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 345
Partly right. They did the same thing for the XSI 7 Essentials/Advanced as they did with 5.11 Foundation.

There was no dongle requirement and no restrictions with respect to moving the XSI 7 Essential software between machines. (As long as only one machine had the software activated -> this was verified at each start of the software.) Actually Softimage also had a new feature called the "Panic button" with this release that would enable XSI to continue working while licensing problems were sorted (ref: http://www.awn.com/articles/review/...ip-ice/page/4,1 ) (But again relying on a Softimage web page).


Hence I view AD's actions as both consumer unfriendly and downright hostile to former Softimage customers.
__________________
-per aspera ad astra
 
Old 10-14-2012, 09:59 PM   #10
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by luceric
btw that embedded image pops up a porn ad. can a mod get rid of it please.

Odd, didn't seem dodgy, but removed it just in case.

If you click the warning sign button by the bottom right of a post I get a more obvious warning btw, I try to read every thread, but I don't always get to them the same day they are posted

Cheers,
Raff
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 10-21-2012, 05:49 PM   #11
polygonpusher
Veteran
portfolio
Sang Han
USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
luceric - I never claimed anyone came to my house and broke my software. My unhappiness stems from the fact that software I paid for no longer works because autodesk is no longer providing activation for it.

"XSI Foundation was like that, non-transferable, licenced to one system. That's one of the limitation you get for 500$ as opposed to having the 3000$ XSI that is tied to a USB hardware dongle instead."

This argument doesn't hold. In addition to what runejw has already said, autodesk's decision also affects people who have to reinstall windows or any other os. Would you consider that a different system? I on average wipe my hard drive and do a fresh install of windows every 2 years in order to get a clean and optimized os. Sometimes people get unrecoverable malware and have no choice but to do a clean install. As per your attempt to differentiate between a $500 and $3000 software, I fail to understand why that should make a difference. Suppose foundation cost $3000 and advanced cost $10000. You could still make the same argument that because foundation cost less that it's somehow ok for autodesk to do what they did. In any case $500 isn't exactly pocket change and if autodesk feels it is, than I'm happy to ship my copy back for a refund.

"What you got through all the years is a lot out usage of that 500$. The product was kind of meant to be disposable. XSI 5.11 is not compatible with Vista and Windows 7; glitches (like message box buttons not working) and crashes abound. It's an awesome version, rich and stable, but as non-trivial high tech app it's kind of frozen in time in 2005 Windows XP land."

I never considered foundation to be disposable. It seemed to me like avid had different versions with different features to appeal to particular market niches. Companies do this all the time. Intel for example has a variety of cpu's that can cost anywhere from several thousand dollars to under $100. I'm also fine with the glitches stemming from running xsi under windows 7 and don't expect autodesk to issue any fixes.
__________________
My Blog: TheOtherSang
 
Old 10-22-2012, 02:35 AM   #12
luceric
Frequenter
No longer user this account
Canada
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 278
For Foundation 4.x and 5.0, there is some information here about how to backup and restore the licence
http://area.autodesk.com/forum/auto...dation-running/
 
Old 09-16-2013, 01:35 AM   #13
Stoehr
Expert
 
Stoehr's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew L Stoehr
Professor & Dept. Chair
American River College, Art New Media
Sacramento, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 924
Quote:
Originally Posted by luceric
For Foundation 4.x and 5.0, there is some information here about how to backup and restore the licence
http://area.autodesk.com/forum/auto...dation-running/


I'm curious if the process to preserve my 4.2 Foundation license is still possible?
__________________
maya and zbrush training
creating CG3D since 2001

3D Models
@ Turbosquid

my Scripts
 
Old 09-17-2013, 06:04 PM   #14
xsisupport
Solid support guy
portfolio
Stephen Blair
Senior Support Engineer
Solid Angle
Montreal, CA
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 182
There never was any way to transfer or regenerate Foundation 5 licenses. That Request Key stuff was just for first-time activations.
 
Old 09-18-2013, 10:30 PM   #15
AceMastermind
XSI 4 Life
portfolio
Softimage XSI
USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by luceric
For Foundation 4.x and 5.0, there is some information here about how to backup and restore the licence
http://area.autodesk.com/forum/auto...dation-running/


This is the new link for anyone looking for that page:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Insta...ng/td-p/4086782

You might have to be logged in to see it though.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.