CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk Softimage
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 03:37 AM   #1
AberAber
New Member
portfolio
Aber Aber
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
Material, with texture and Constant shader, texture not exported in .FBX material

I cannot get Softimage 2013 to export a .fbx with a constant shader. Basically to recreate, create a cube, set to constant shader, then apply texture. Your material should be (bitmap)->Image->Constant->material.

Whenever I export to .fbx, there is no .bmp anywhere and the material has no texture. If I export to .obj though, it does have the texture, but is not suitable.


If it's a phong shader or lambert, it does export it. But I can't use phong as my target uses a constant shader. Is there a workaround? It sounds like a "bug" in fbx export, in that the material connects to color, but in phong connects to diffuse.
Thanks.

Last edited by AberAber : 09-12-2012 at 03:49 AM.
 
Old 09-12-2012, 07:00 AM   #2
Stoehr
Expert
 
Stoehr's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew L Stoehr
Professor & Dept. Chair
American River College, Art New Media
Sacramento, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 922
I don't know what to tell ya. I had success with surfaces export with a UV texture projection, and with constant node. but no success with a polymesh and standard explicit uvs.
__________________
maya and zbrush training
creating CG3D since 2001

3D Models
@ Turbosquid

my Scripts
 
Old 09-13-2012, 06:24 AM   #3
Stoehr
Expert
 
Stoehr's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew L Stoehr
Professor & Dept. Chair
American River College, Art New Media
Sacramento, USA
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 922
I forgot to ask earlier, what are you exporting to? What are you trying to achieve? Maybe there's another solution.
__________________
maya and zbrush training
creating CG3D since 2001

3D Models
@ Turbosquid

my Scripts
 
Old 09-24-2012, 06:10 PM   #4
AberAber
New Member
portfolio
Aber Aber
Los Angeles, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
It worked in 7.5 but not 2013. My target game uses constant shading do it perfectly mimics final import. Phong and Lambert are erroneously shaded.
 
Old 09-24-2012, 06:10 PM   #5
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.