steven-pendrous
Veteran

portfolio
Steven Pendrous
3D Product Designer
London, United Kingdom

Some Help Please (New Workstation)

Hi Guys,

I really hope that someone can help put my mind at ease with a new custom workstation I am looking to order in the next few days?

I am a senior product designer and need a good, reliable machine for a new business venture I am embarking on. The main software packages I use for work are 3DS Max + Vray (visuals/animations) and Autodesk Inventor (parametric modelling). Some of the scenes can become quite large, especially as the Inventor files don't import too cleanly into max, but apart from that the rest is just textures etc. I also intend to get back into doing some personal projects using ZBrush, Cryengine and anything else that catches my eye.

In the past I have always used high spec Dell workstations with dual XEON processors, ECC ram and Nvidia Quadro graphics cards but, for better or worse, I really cannot afford to spend that kind of money at the moment. As a result I have been looking into high end custom gaming PC's, which are coming in at a far more reasonable price, but I am concerned that it will not be able to handle the workload that is going to be thrown at it?

The spec I have so far is:-
Case - Corsair Air 540
CPU - Overclocked Intel 6 Core i7-4930k (3.4ghz - 4.4ghz)
Board - Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
RAM - 64GB Kingston Hyper-X Beast Dual DDR3 2133mhz
GPU - 3GB Nvidia Geforce GTX 780Ti
HDD1 - 480GB Kingston Hyper-X 3k SSD (540mb/450mb)
HDD2 - 2TB 3.5' SATA-III 6GB/s 7200rpm 64mb Cache
HDD3 - 2TB 3.5' SATA-III 6GB/s 7200rpm 64mb Cache (Mirrored Raid)
DVD - 24x Dual Layer DVD Writer
PSU - Corsair 850W RM Series 80 Plus Gold UltraQuiet
Cooling - Corsair H100i Hydro Series
OS - Windows 8.1 Pro (64Bit)

Total 2172.50 (ex VAT)