Advice: Best PC laptop for Art/Design

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

Old 07 July 2014   #1
Advice: Best PC laptop for Art/Design

Hi, I'm a professional games artist looking to become more mobile and break away from my desktop setup.
I'd like to know from fellow professional artists what the best laptop p.c is to use? I'm not interested at all in a macbook, it has to be p.c based.

I'm wondering whether 15.6 or 17.3 inch laptop is better? Would I really notice the difference on a day to day basis? Also i've been advised that SSD storage is much better. But that already limits the choice out there.
Any advice/examples of laptops you're currently using and what for would be greatly appreciated. The more recent the better. I'd be mainly using photoshop, sketchbook pro, promotion and potentially Flash.

Ideally I want to spend as little as possible. But realistically I realise i'll be paying a minimum of 1000, possibly more. But I absolutely cannot go over 2000.

Cheers for your time!

Stef

Old 07 July 2014   #2
If you want a one-stop recommendation, I'd go for a Microsoft Surface Pro 2 or for better performance, a Surface Pro 3. You can also look at the Cintiq Companion which is a Surface Pro that has been modded by Wacom for a few nice extras that you might find useful.

For a regular laptop, a larger screen is always nice but it will add to the weight. Many times I have been surprised when I tote any laptop around at how much it starts to weigh you down. Lighter is going to be more conducive to the mobility aspect you are looking for.

Old 07 July 2014   #3
Unless you need the mobility then stick with a desktop, I wouldn't choose a laptop for any other reason.