CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2014, 06:53 PM   #1
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
GTX 690 plus Titan?

First build in 15 years, and I have a GTX 690 that will be used with Maya and a GPU-accelerated renderer that can take advantage of multiple GPUs. I haven't decided on which renderer. In any case, my thought was to have a Titan in addition to the 690. Right away, though, I realized that the two leads from the PSU are already used for the 690. My question is, is there any way to have a Titan in there in addition to the 690? If so, what will I need to do?

Asus P8Z77-V deluxe
Corsair HX 1050 PSU
 
Old 06-28-2014, 10:37 PM   #2
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8,891
You have a modular psu which can use 6 gfx card cables, find them and plug them in.
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 06-28-2014, 10:56 PM   #3
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by imashination
You have a modular psu which can use 6 gfx card cables, find them and plug them in.
Will 1050 Watts do it?
 
Old 06-29-2014, 01:47 PM   #4
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8,891
1050 watts could power your entire house with the air conditioning on...
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 06-29-2014, 02:15 PM   #5
dmeyer
raaaaaerrrrrrrrr!
 
dmeyer's Avatar
designer
de-zy-nur
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by imashination
1050 watts could power your entire house with the air conditioning on...


If you live in a shoebox and unplug everything, maybe.

Microwaves are 500-1000 Watts
Window unit AC usually 1000
Central AC 2500W +

Etc
__________________
Fix it in pre.
 
Old 06-29-2014, 03:49 PM   #6
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmeyer
If you live in a shoebox and unplug everything, maybe.

Microwaves are 500-1000 Watts
Window unit AC usually 1000
Central AC 2500W +

Etc
Sorry, what do you mean? Are you saying the PSU can or can't power a GTX 690 plus a Titan? Imashination above is implying the PSU is more than enough.
 
Old 06-29-2014, 04:17 PM   #7
dmeyer
raaaaaerrrrrrrrr!
 
dmeyer's Avatar
designer
de-zy-nur
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by shokan
Sorry, what do you mean? Are you saying the PSU can or can't power a GTX 690 plus a Titan? Imashination above is implying the PSU is more than enough.


Yes it will be fine.
__________________
Fix it in pre.
 
Old 06-30-2014, 12:23 AM   #8
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by shokan
First build in 15 years, and I have a GTX 690 that will be used with Maya and a GPU-accelerated renderer that can take advantage of multiple GPUs. I haven't decided on which renderer. In any case, my thought was to have a Titan in addition to the 690. Right away, though, I realized that the two leads from the PSU are already used for the 690. My question is, is there any way to have a Titan in there in addition to the 690? If so, what will I need to do?

Asus P8Z77-V deluxe
Corsair HX 1050 PSU


I have a Titan, I like it, I would not recommend it over a 780ti unless you really, really want the 6GB. Food for thought.
They will work fine together in most scenario, certainly they will if you split work/display and GPU rendering.

Power wise you'll be fine, the 690 can draw a hard spike of 330, the titan is rated at 250 but it's unheard of of it spiking even just a 240, both together are unlikely to be more than 500 sustained draw even taxed, that leaves your 1050W 80% rated PSU with 300W to spare for the rest, which is plenty, and the HX is a single rail so it can take any combination of loads well enough.

Temperatures are going to be your main issue, the 690 and Titan run hot by design, you'll have half a KW of boiling water to cool off in there, so make sure you have decent flow.
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 06-30-2014, 12:35 AM   #9
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
Thank you, especially about the cooling.
 
Old 07-26-2014, 06:49 PM   #10
shokan
Know-it-All
Peter Van Aken
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 448
The P8Z77-V Deluxe was a DUD!

Bought it used on Kijiji. Mistake.

Will this lesser model do as well with the 690 and Titan?

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produc...1-954-_-Product
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.