New Mac Pro or Boxx 8950

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

Old 03 March 2014   #1
New Mac Pro or Boxx 8950

Both of these computers are close to 10k when the Mac pro is maxed out. For almost the same price I feel as though the Boxx 8950 is Much faster.
I am a 3d artist, I use about 10 different hardware intensive programs quite regularly. One of my main goals is to shed massive time off of rendering in maya and NukeX.

I cant get over how cool and compact the new Mac pro looks. I personally like the Mac OS much more than windows. But for such an investment this hardware seems to be lacking.

Boxx looks very tidy on the inside with the ability to upgrade hardware. I believe its clocking speeds are much higher than the Macs and it is liquid cooled. Also it has Dual CPUs.

Can anyone steer me in the right direction? Which one should I go with? What might you recommend?

On a side note, what is a good monitor as well. Are 4K displays worth it if I am working with cinema quality footage? Any recommended products?

Thanks

Old 03 March 2014   #2
Build your own, Boxx systems are more than 3x the cost of what you would pay if you just bought the parts from Newegg and built it yourself. In fact, it's kind of an insult how overpriced they are.
As for the Mac Pro, looks like you'd get more value for the same price, although you're also paying for the form factor. But still, you could do better by building your own, but you would have to decide if you wanted Mac or Windows.

Old 03 March 2014   #3
Double post with some time between threads, and in General Discussion instead of HW forums.
Double demerit points!
WIll move it to the appropriate forum for you, next time post in the pertinent one, please

Old 03 March 2014   #4