CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2013, 01:35 PM   #1
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,220
building a low cost c4d workstation

I need to put a new workstation together and I am trying to find the best performance/price ratio

2 x INTEL XEON E5-1620 3600MHz at EUR 284 per cpu looks cheep to me ?
an Asus z9PE-d8 WS socket 2011 board , with 64 GB ECC ram
bequite L8-CM 730W power supply
gtx 680 4GB
samsung 840 pro boot drive
a couple of WD blue drives for storage
win7

will cost me about 1600 + ram

what I like about this is the fast single threaded price/performance with 8 proper cores.

The other E5 cpu's look ridiculously expensive to me , as I dont spend a lot of time rendering, but do spend a lot of time editing an working in the viewport.

the big question is, are 2 cheep cpu's on a dual board going to do just as well as a single crazy expensive 6 or 8 core xeon?
I can see the cache is quite small, but I cant imagine that is going to make a great deal of difference in every day use?

Any thoughts or suggestions, before I make the plunge?

cheers
Paul

Last edited by tapaul : 10-30-2013 at 01:51 PM.
 
Old 10-30-2013, 01:58 PM   #2
Decade
Expert
 
Decade's Avatar
Graeme McDougall
London, GB
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 746
They'll both be beaten by an overclocked 4930k in editing and rendering speed, which is much cheaper than both of them. A 4.2ghz speed should be easy & safe to achieve.
Your Graphics card choice is good, perhaps also look at the 4GB GTX 770s, whichever is cheaper, realy.
__________________
Cinema 4D R17 Studio, VRAYforC4D, Z Brush, Mudbox, Photoshop CS6.
 
Old 10-30-2013, 02:33 PM   #3
ThePriest
Bad Ass
 
ThePriest's Avatar
portfolio
Stuart Townsend
Environment artist
Berkeley, USA
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,593
They got me a 16 core 2.0ghz machine for me at work, which gets an (old) cinebench score of 16. I would stick with gaming technology if a maximum ghz CPU was out of my price range.
__________________
۩PRIST

 
Old 10-30-2013, 03:11 PM   #4
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,220
ok, rethink. im dropping dual xeon cpu and getting the fastest i7 I can get my hands on. That makes more sense for what I do.
 
Old 10-30-2013, 05:17 PM   #5
Cairyn
Fur Stylist
 
Cairyn's Avatar
Robert Gruenweiss
Germany
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 473
Uh, was the E5-1620 even dual-processor capable? I think not...
(Personally I still have a single i7-3930K, so I didn't try...)
 
Old 10-30-2013, 05:18 PM   #6
LucentDreams
lover of gophers
 
LucentDreams's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Kai Pedersen
Lighting Lead
Double Negative
Vancouver, Canada
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by tapaul
ok, rethink. im dropping dual xeon cpu and getting the fastest i7 I can get my hands on. That makes more sense for what I do.


Depending on the motherboard you get I'd recommend the second fastest i7 as in both the latest gen has well and the previous gen the second fastest unlocked CPU overclocks so well that the performance of both levels out when overclocked.

If you hate the idea of over clocking then maybe the top ones are with it but honestly a decent motherboard nowadays has a single button press overclock that with high quality air coolers or any liquid radiator will handle just fine. Easily take the 3930 or 4930 to 4.2 to 4.4 with no effort or risk or really even knowledge of overclocking.
__________________
Quote:
"Until you do what you believe in, how do you know whether you believe in it or not?" -Leo Tolstoy
Kai Pedersen
 
Old 10-30-2013, 05:19 PM   #7
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,220
as far as I know all the xeon's are fine in a dual board. It would be pretty silly if they where not.
 
Old 10-30-2013, 05:48 PM   #8
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cairyn
Uh, was the E5-1620 even dual-processor capable? I think not...

You are right, all 1xxx Xeons are for single socket systems, they won't work in a dual CPU configuration.
I would go for an i7 solution as well, in fact i have a couple of weeks ago and now use a thoroughly fast i7-4770k, slightly overclocked to 4.4. It's CB value is one of the reference values that come with CB.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 10-30-2013, 06:22 PM   #9
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,073
The 1xxx series xeons are rather pointless, last I checked the first digit determines how many cpus you can use at once, hence they all start with a 1, 2, 4 or 8. A single xeon makes absolutely no sense as a 3d workstation.
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 10-30-2013, 07:16 PM   #10
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,220
i7 then
 
Old 10-31-2013, 12:16 PM   #11
sirio
Expert
Stefano Strika
architect
rome, Italy
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by imashination
The 1xxx series xeons are rather pointless, last I checked the first digit determines how many cpus you can use at once, hence they all start with a 1, 2, 4 or 8. A single xeon makes absolutely no sense as a 3d workstation.


I don't totally agree, an e5-1650 v2 cost as much as an i7-4930K an have a slightly ghz advantage(if you are not interested in OC), plus is support ECC memory and some more features. While the e5-1650v2 is very attracting for his price point I agree with you that many other xeon cpus do not offer the same price/performance ratio.
 
Old 10-31-2013, 12:38 PM   #12
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,220
which bright spark moved this thread to a forum where nobody will ever seen it again?

If I had a pound for every time someone talked about processor/board combos/gfx combos specifically for C4D , I could retire !

there is no logic at all to this kind of moderation.

Last edited by tapaul : 10-31-2013 at 12:44 PM.
 
Old 10-31-2013, 01:00 PM   #13
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirio
I don't totally agree, an e5-1650 v2 cost as much as an i7-4930K an have a slightly ghz advantage(if you are not interested in OC), plus is support ECC memory and some more features. While the e5-1650v2 is very attracting for his price point I agree with you that many other xeon cpus do not offer the same price/performance ratio.


hmm, now I see that i7 does not support ECC ram. which throws me back into a state of confusion. I want ECC ram. so that means just xeon's (as far as I can tell)?

I actually could use just the 1x xeon. I have dumped the dual processor idea altogether and ordered that WS board. so now I need the fastest xeon 6 core, with as many mhz as i can get.
which one is that?
I actually used to enjoy all this cpu carry on, but to me it looks like intel are trying their best to maek it all as confusing as possible , to up the chances of people buying shit they dont need for more than they want to pay.

my cpu budget is 1k , I want 1 xeon (2011) , am I gonna get a >=6 core cpu with 3.6 ghz or more for that?
 
Old 10-31-2013, 01:20 PM   #14
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,465
There are a couple of discussions on this topic right here in this forum, the last one from just a couple of days ago.
ECC RAM is really most usefull for 24/ high availability systems. It mostly protects against RAM errors due to cosmic rays. For a normal workstation it usually is not necessary.
The common definition of a workstation system is somewhat outdated.
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 10-31-2013, 01:41 PM   #15
tapaul
Developer
 
tapaul's Avatar
portfolio
Paul Everett
Developer
Beverungen, Germany
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,220
as far as I can tell xeon requires ECC , i7 does not, but i7 actually seems to be able to use it as well if the board supports it (2011 does)

what a fantastic way to waste time
I was going to just buy a Dell box, but they where taking the p*ss on price,imo.which is why i started component hunting. Seems everyone slaps a premium on their boxes at the hint of the word "workstation"
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.