CGTalk > Development and Hardware > Technical and Hardware
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2013, 03:59 PM   #1
finalhour
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Question pc build help please :)

Hello everybody!

Since I'm beginning to study in the near future I need to buy a new Computer. I have no clue in terms of hardware and especially not in the cg area. I'm searching for hardware recommendations for a computer that works as an allrounder.

We will be working with the following programs at university: Maya, 3dsmax, after effects and zbrush
And we do stuff like animation, modelling, compositing, riging, lighting, photo editing and so on.

My budget is around 800 to 1000$ and I want the computer to be as best as it can become in this price range. Thats the reason why I'm asking you people.

So it would be very nice if some of you could help a newbie like me with some suggestions/recommendations about hardware components and what else I have to consider!?

thank you
 
Old 10-14-2013, 02:19 PM   #2
olson
Houdini|Python|Linux
portfolio
Luke Olson
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,889
Do you already have some components like the keyboard, monitor, and mouse? Or are you looking to get everything?
__________________
http://www.whenpicsfly.com
 
Old 10-14-2013, 03:04 PM   #3
finalhour
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by olson
Do you already have some components like the keyboard, monitor, and mouse? Or are you looking to get everything?


thanks for the quick reply

the budget is just meant for the computer hardware components. I will spent someextra Budget on the stuff you mentioned
 
Old 10-14-2013, 04:39 PM   #4
finalhour
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
thanks for your fast reply!

sorry that my reply took so long because the cg rules say that the first 2 posts get a validation that can take up to 24h.

now to your question ... the 800 to 1000 $ are only meant for the hardware components without mouse, monitor and keyboard.

if anyone has some recommendations that would be nice

and like i said in the first post... it really has to be some kind of an allrounder.

thanks
 
Old 10-14-2013, 04:51 PM   #5
Darkherow
Expert
portfolio
W Lee
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 684
Are you able to build the computer yourself? What I mean is are you going to buy all the compoents and assemble the computer yourself?
 
Old 10-14-2013, 05:10 PM   #6
olson
Houdini|Python|Linux
portfolio
Luke Olson
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,889
I would go with something similar to this. Current generation Intel quad core (i7-4770), 16GB of memory, 3TB hard drive, middle of the road current generation AMD graphics card (R9 270X), Antec case with 500 watt power supply.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16811129024
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813130699
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16819116900
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16814125476
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820148466
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822148907
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16827136259

Could swap out the AMD graphics for Nvidia graphics if you want to do something with CUDA down the road. Could also swap out the hard drive for a SSD and smaller hard drive but I would just skip the SSD based on the budget.
__________________
http://www.whenpicsfly.com
 
Old 10-14-2013, 05:45 PM   #7
finalhour
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by olson
I would go with something similar to this. Current generation Intel quad core (i7-4770), 16GB of memory, 3TB hard drive, middle of the road current generation AMD graphics card (R9 270X), Antec case with 500 watt power supply.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16811129024
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813130699
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16819116900
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16814125476
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820148466
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822148907
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16827136259

Could swap out the AMD graphics for Nvidia graphics if you want to do something with CUDA down the road. Could also swap out the hard drive for a SSD and smaller hard drive but I would just skip the SSD based on the budget.


Thank you for the recommendation

okay, since I'm a newbie to that harware stuff I made some research on this topic but I can only talk about things I read in forums. And I read in another forum where people talked about this stuff that you need a nvidia quadro graphics to run maya smooth (something about the viewport)... is that right?

Is the setup you mentioned good at rendering? I saw some people recommending to buy 2 cheaper computers ( one as workstation and one for rendering) because rendering would take a lot of time? or is it better to go with something similar you mentioned for an allrounder computer?
And what does CUDA mean?
are there any weaks spots in terms of a specific area in cg in the setup you mentioned or something that it's specifically good for?
would you recommend buying graphics second hand?

@ Darkherow: My neighbor is willing to build the computer for me

sorry, I know ...a lot of questions ...it's just that i really have no clue about hardware :(

thanks

Last edited by finalhour : 10-14-2013 at 06:16 PM.
 
Old 10-14-2013, 08:00 PM   #8
olson
Houdini|Python|Linux
portfolio
Luke Olson
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by finalhour
And I read in another forum where people talked about this stuff that you need a nvidia quadro graphics to run maya smooth (something about the viewport)... is that right?


There will likely be some viewport artifacts in Maya and some of the viewport features might not work correctly. They are usually not show stoppers and based on the budget it doesn't make sense to purchase a workstation card (Quadro or FirePro).

Quote:
Originally Posted by finalhour
Is the setup you mentioned good at rendering? I saw some people recommending to buy 2 cheaper computers ( one as workstation and one for rendering) because rendering would take a lot of time?


Multiple computers is a good idea depending on the budget and the tasks being performed. In your case I don't think it makes sense to build more than one computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by finalhour
And what does CUDA mean?


Nvidia cards support CUDA and OpenCL, cards from AMD support OpenCL. They are programming models for using the graphics card to process stuff other than real-time graphics like simulations and renders. It's not as cool as it sounds because very few programs take advantage of this and there are a lot of limitations that make most of the graphics card based stuff unusable in production in my experience.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUDA
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OpenCL

Quote:
Originally Posted by finalhour
would you recommend buying graphics second hand?


It depends on the exact situation. Generally speaking I wouldn't recommend it.
__________________
http://www.whenpicsfly.com
 
Old 10-14-2013, 09:21 PM   #9
finalhour
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by olson
There will likely be some viewport artifacts in Maya and some of the viewport features might not work correctly. They are usually not show stoppers and based on the budget it doesn't make sense to purchase a workstation card (Quadro or FirePro).



Multiple computers is a good idea depending on the budget and the tasks being performed. In your case I don't think it makes sense to build more than one computer.



Nvidia cards support CUDA and OpenCL, cards from AMD support OpenCL. They are programming models for using the graphics card to process stuff other than real-time graphics like simulations and renders. It's not as cool as it sounds because very few programs take advantage of this and there are a lot of limitations that make most of the graphics card based stuff unusable in production in my experience.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUDA
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OpenCL



It depends on the exact situation. Generally speaking I wouldn't recommend it.



thank you very much for spending your time on this. i really appreciate that

okay, so just in case ...which nvidia graphics would you recommend istead of the AMD (just to have some options )? And what about cooling? do i need to know something about this?

thats about everything I want to know

one last thing... do you think it is generally a good time now to buy hardware or is it better to wait a bit for new technologies?
 
Old 10-14-2013, 09:30 PM   #10
olson
Houdini|Python|Linux
portfolio
Luke Olson
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by finalhour
okay, so just in case ...which nvidia graphics would you recommend istead of the AMD (just to have some options )?


A graphics card from Nvidia on the same budget would be a GTX 660. Not sure if that's a good card or not so I'll let someone more familiar with Nvidia hardware comment on that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by finalhour
And what about cooling? do i need to know something about this?


If you are not going to overclock then the factory cooling will be sufficient. If you're interested in overclocking you might go with the i7-4770K processor (unlocked multiplier), a third party heatsink, and a case with more fans.

Quote:
Originally Posted by finalhour
one last thing... do you think it is generally a good time now to buy hardware or is it better to wait a bit for new technologies?


There will always be something newer and better just around the corner. Sometimes it's worth waiting a week or two but in this case I don't know of any components just around the corner that are worth waiting for (processor recently released, AMD graphics recently released).
__________________
http://www.whenpicsfly.com
 
Old 10-14-2013, 09:34 PM   #11
finalhour
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
okay ....thanks for the load of information!
 
Old 10-17-2013, 02:39 PM   #12
finalhour
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Hey I had a talk with my personal hardware specialist ( my neighbor ) and he also had some recommendations for me. just trying to have some options

I wanted to ask if you could take a look at the setup he gave me and tell me what you think?


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16820233335
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16819116900
http://www.geforce.com/hardware/des...geforce-gtx-760
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16813130706
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16822148907
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16827136259
http://www.aerocool.com.tw/pgs/pgs-b/153.html (case)

how is it in comparison to your recommendation olson?

or if someone else can say something about the two hardware setup options in this thread it would be much appreciated

thank you

Last edited by finalhour : 10-17-2013 at 02:43 PM.
 
Old 10-17-2013, 06:24 PM   #13
olson
Houdini|Python|Linux
portfolio
Luke Olson
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,889
I would go with a minimum of 16GB of memory these days. There's not a power supply on the list or am I missing something?
__________________
http://www.whenpicsfly.com
 
Old 10-18-2013, 12:19 PM   #14
finalhour
New Member
portfolio
Germany
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by olson
I would go with a minimum of 16GB of memory these days. There's not a power supply on the list or am I missing something?


okay 16 gb

i think the case has a power supply itegrated with 530W.

what do you think about this setup in comparison to the one you mentioned before?
or would a mixture of both be the best?
and in terms of gpu I just don't want to make the wrong choice :(
 
Old 10-21-2013, 07:44 AM   #15
ChrisCorr
Veteran
 
ChrisCorr's Avatar
Christian Correia
Freelancer
Santa Cruz, Portugal
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
Hi,

The 760 is a great card, but if you're not planning on doing any gaming, it's going to be overkill. So I think you can step it down to a 660 for example.

That case doesn't come with a PSU. And if it did you shouldn't go for it. For the components you selected I would buy something between 500-600W for under 100$. Seasonic and Corsair are good brands but it always comes down to specific models.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...N82E16817151119

Last edited by ChrisCorr : 10-21-2013 at 07:47 AM.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.