1k Desktop Machine for Student

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 09 September 2013   #1
1k Desktop Machine for Student

Hey there!

I'm a student in college looking to buy a desktop machine to hone my CAD skills. I'll mainly be using it to learn how to make animations in 3DsMax using Vray. I'll also be using Solidworks, Rhino, After Effects, and Premiere for HD video-editing, along with the usual Adobe trifecta (Ps, Ill, Indd).

Being a student I don't have that much money so I'd like to spend around 1k—if possible. I'd like to build it myself, but I'll admit that I have no idea what parts I need. It's also a bit daunting to see that there are so many different components out there that I can use.

If building it myself is too difficult, I'd be willing to buy a pre-assembled desktop. A friend suggested I look into older high-end machines that often are still quite good and cost relatively little. He mentioned something like a Lenove Thinkstation D20 could be good. But even on eBay they range from $350 to $1500. (http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...on+d20&LH_BIN=1)

I have no clue what to do... I just want to start making some animations!

Got any suggestions on what I could do?

Old 09 September 2013   #2
Okay, so for under $1000 I'm leaning towards getting an XPS 8700.

As for a custom build, based on suggestions I made this list for parts:
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1DjYI

The GPU seems quite expensive. Someone else suggested I get an Nvidia 660 which would lower the total cost to about $1000.