Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  

Old 09-11-2013, 11:11 AM   #1
cynnex

portfolio
Australia

Computer Build for 3D

Hi all,

I'm looking to get myself a new computer, upgrading from an old Mac. I'm currently studying 3D and will be moving into game art & design next year. I was wondering if I could get some input on the parts that I've chosen.

The primary use would be to run Maya, Zbrush, Mudbox, UDK and Photoshop with maybe a bit of gaming on the side.

My budget is around $2500 but I'm willing to give it a bit of leeway if it's worth it. I hear good things about the gtx780 but I'm wondering if it's worth spending an extra $300 should I downgrade it to a 4gb770 and add another hard drive/memory instead? Also, is there any benefit to getting a k series cpu if i'm not going to be doing any overclocking?

http://au.pcpartpicker.com/user/cynnex/saved/2mIb

cpu: intel i7- 4770k
motherboard: msi z87-gd65
memory: g.skill ripjaw x 16gb
storage: 128 samsung pro ssd
: wd 1TB black caviar
case: thermaltake armor revo
power supply: thermaltake 750w tough power gold
monitor: asus pa248Q

i'm looking at getting it either end of this/next month but would love to hear from you guys first before i make any final decisions.

cheers

Old 09-13-2013, 07:38 AM   #2
ChrisCorr
Veteran

Christian Correia
Freelancer
Santa Cruz, Portugal

Hi there,

Ok so if you're not going to do any OC, you have a few illogical component choices there. First off you wouldn't need a K series CPU, the only reason to get these is for overclocking. Secondly you wouldn't need a water cooling unit typically used for overclocking, a decent air cooler would do just fine to keep things cool and quiet. So I think you can get the non-K version of that CPU and go without the water cooling.