Mac users, what video card do you use?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 09 September 2013   #1
Mac users, what video card do you use?

Hi guys,

I am on a Mac Pro (Mid-2010) and I had my Radeon HD 5870 go kaput at the worst time possible so I ordered a Radeon 7950 to replace it but there is absolutely no performance increase (and actually a decrease in Mudbox). I want to get a different card but its almost impossible to find information on a card that is good for 3D work.

I use Modo and Mudbox mostly with some Maya, Houdini, and Realflow thrown into the mix. I simply want to be able to texture paint smoothly and have nice viewport response in heavier scenes.

I'm only a hobbyist so I'm trying to avoid spending $1800 for an Nvidia k5000 card or a FirePro w8000 card although I'll do it if need be. Does anyone have a suggestion on what card would be good on the Mac for the above apps?

I was looking at the Nvidia GTX680 too but I'm seeing very mixed reviews.

Last edited by chrono1081 : 09 September 2013 at 06:11 PM.

Old 09 September 2013   #2
don't bother with the K5000 - it doesn't perform as well as the Geforce 680. That's the one I would get if I were you. My friend runs immense models in it in Maya, Mudbox and the Mac mari beta and he loves it. He bought a vanilla PC card (not Mac version) of the 680 and it runs fine on his Mac Pro but personally I would buy the more expensive Mac version because you get EFI boot screen support with it. If you buy the vanilla PC version, keep a cheaper Mac video card around for when you need to reinstall a system from CD or something.

I was really disappointed with the AMD 7950 Mac version when I tried it out. It barely performed better than 5870

Old 09 September 2013   #3