CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2013, 08:06 AM   #1
Lazarvfx
New Member
portfolio
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Quadro 600 or GTX 660 ti

Hello,
I am looking in upgrading my graphic since i am starting a modeling and animation academy.
I will mostly be working in maya, mudbox and softimage, and i would like to see which one of the cards fits my needs better. Some peole recomended GTX660ti as a great solution for working 3d , but since i am not a gamer and i don't need a graphic card for games the though of quadro came to my mind.
Also if quadro 600 is a good pick, is the quadro k600 any better since it is a little bit more expensice. I saw it has the same amount of mmemoy but twice the cuda processors and i don't know will it affect its performace drasticly.
I am new i the 3d world so any advice on the subject is very welcome.
 
Old 09-05-2013, 03:56 PM   #2
joaoalexdias
New Member
 
joaoalexdias's Avatar
portfolio
joao Dias
Torres Vedras, PT
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Hi,

I have almost the same question, my doubt is since im beginning to work in animation, modelling and vfx is quadro 600 good or should i buy the quadro K2000.
I have seen the Autodesk certification Hardware, and the quadro 600 checks all requirments.

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servle...oduct=95&hw=124

what do you think about the display best to work is with IPS tech?
Should be better 2 display with 23inches or 1 with 27?
 
Old 09-05-2013, 05:26 PM   #3
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8,887
Not to be overly dramatic, but the quadro 600 is an insult to modern technology. I'd rather dust off some 6 year old spare emergency backup card I have at the back of a drawer than install that pitiful excuse of a graphics card.

Just to put it into perspective, a modern gfx card has around 2,000 gpu cores; that thing has 96.
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 09-05-2013, 07:07 PM   #4
joaoalexdias
New Member
 
joaoalexdias's Avatar
portfolio
joao Dias
Torres Vedras, PT
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
About the Monitor, i'm still very divided about a 2 monitor set (2x23 or 2x24), or only 1 monitor 27 inches, for working in, animation, modelling and vfx in maya, eventually some composing and motion in after effects.
If i go for a 2 set monitor, is there a best measure like 23 ou 24 inches?
And about IPS, is it really needed for the Job?

What's your advice

Thanks!
 
Old 09-05-2013, 07:28 PM   #5
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 8,887
Id take 2x 23 over a single 27. IPS gives good colour and image quality, TN planel shimmer and shift like a cheap laptop screen. the blacks turn all various shades of grey.
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 09-05-2013, 07:28 PM   #6
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.