Graphics card for both gaming and 3d applications

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 07 July 2013   #1
Graphics card for both gaming and 3d applications

Hi,

I currently have a ati HD 4870 which works pretty well with everything I throw at it on Max and other various 3d software. Anyway's, the gpu's fan is on its way out and I feel like upgrading the rest of my rig anyhow. I'm a gamer as well as a 3d design/animation student (actually i'm an architect student, but we get to do all that to ) so I want a gpu which handles 3d applications and both gaming well but which is a noticeable upgrade from my 4870.

I understand on a basic level the difference between say Quadro's and gtx's, one being for more precision in 3d apps and the latter for fps in games, however I am a student and do not want to pay 500 for a gpu, my budget is around 200, so i figured some of you guys in here must also use gaming cards with good capability.

Or maybe there are some work arounds like changing the driver on gaming cards to make them more proficient in 3d apps?

any help and recommendations are appreciated thanks

p.s. I have googled this, but I have only found older posts, I am curious about the latest cards as well.

Old 07 July 2013   #2
For 200 if you want something new, go for a geforce 660. If you dont mind waiting for a bargain I would personally try getting a 680 on ebay, they can go for about 200 or so.

Old 07 July 2013   #3
Thanks! Yea i see the 680 has a much better benchmark than the 660

Old 07 July 2013   #4
Originally Posted by xEightySix: Thanks! Yea i see the 680 has a much better benchmark than the 660

There is a VERY big gap between cards like the 660 and the 670, still a big enough gap between the 660ti and the 670, but not such a huge gap between the 670 and the 680.