technokill
Frequenter
portfolio
Allan Martin
Art Student
Brazil

Should I get a retina macbook pro?

Hi there guys!

Im a beginner, still learning a lot of things and techniques, so I need a machine for general CG purposes.

I cant have a workstation as im about to move away from home to study. It's gotta be a laptop.

What do you guys think about this retina macbook pro here:

2,7ghz quad core i7 - turbo boost up to 3,7ghz
16 gb ram
256gb flash storage
nvidia gt 650m 1gb ddr5

$ 2500,00

Is it a good machine? Could I get more for less if I choose another brand of laptop? Any recommendations?

Last edited by technokill : 03-12-2013 at 10:16 PM.

Old 02-26-2013, 01:51 AM   #2
cgbeige
Expert

portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA

ya, it's a good machine for CG/VFX. i run the previous-gen MBP 17" with Maya, Nuke, Mudbox, ZBrush, etc and it's great. Dual Thunderbolt is sweet too. You could connect that to two external monitors if you wanted to.

you could get a cheaper PC for sure but that is a nice machine.

Old 02-26-2013, 02:41 AM   #3
technokill
Frequenter
portfolio
Allan Martin
Art Student
Brazil

One thing ive read at other forums is that due to the high pixel amount in retina displays, the view port would actually get slower cause the gpu would have to process more data. Is that true? That wouldnt be great at all, hate slow view ports!

Ty

Old 02-27-2013, 02:40 AM   #4
cgbeige
Expert

portfolio
Dave Girard
San_Francisrococo, USA

well, there are more pixels to deal with but it's not slow by any means. The GPU in the newest MBP is very good and if my 2011 MBP can drive this 2560 x 1440 external display quickly with Maya, you should be fine.

Old 03-04-2013, 01:49 AM   #5
hvanderwegen
Expert

Herbert van der wegen

Do pay attention to this generation's potential retina screen problems. A bulky thread here:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4034848
http://matthewmcmillion.com/rmbp-open-letter/