CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 02:12 PM   #1
lmpi16
Veteran
portfolio
the. best
Barbados
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 64
mari - gpu

I have very good amd gpu , but doesn't work with mari . So i want to buy the cheapest possible working with mari nvidia gpu . I have look on gt 630 (2 gb videoram) , gt 640 (2gb videoram ) . My questions are : Would mari run on these 2 ? What uses mari in one gpu - do the number of cuda cores or memory interface width effect the performance or it uses only the amount of video ram from hardware standpoint ?
 
Old 01-17-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
forelle
Know-it-All
portfolio
Jack Greasley
London , United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmpi16
I have very good amd gpu , but doesn't work with mari . So i want to buy the cheapest possible working with mari nvidia gpu . I have look on gt 630 (2 gb videoram) , gt 640 (2gb videoram ) . My questions are : Would mari run on these 2 ? What uses mari in one gpu - do the number of cuda cores or memory interface width effect the performance or it uses only the amount of video ram from hardware standpoint ?


Mari 1.6 just added support for recent AMD cards (both FirePro and Radeon) with the latest AMD drivers,

Have you tried the latest version of Mari and the latest drivers?
 
Old 01-17-2013, 03:21 PM   #3
lmpi16
Veteran
portfolio
the. best
Barbados
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 64
I am with old driver and can't change it because i had terrible time with Maya with the new drivers . And this particular driver fixed the ultra slow performance in Maya . Can you tell me since wich series radeon are supported so i can take reasonable risk to change it
 
Old 01-17-2013, 03:23 PM   #4
forelle
Know-it-All
portfolio
Jack Greasley
London , United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmpi16
I am with old driver and can't change it because i had terrible time with Maya with the new drivers . And this particular driver fixed the ultra slow performance in Maya . Can you tell me since wich series radeon are supported so i can take reasonable risk to change it


AMD FirePro W7000*
AMD FirePro W8000*
AMD FirePro W9000*
AMD Radeon HD 7850*
AMD Radeon HD 7950*

These are the ones we've tested on.
 
Old 01-17-2013, 03:54 PM   #5
lmpi16
Veteran
portfolio
the. best
Barbados
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 64
Tnx , have someone tested on radeon 6xxx or nvidia gt 630 , 640 ?
 
Old 01-17-2013, 04:43 PM   #6
lmpi16
Veteran
portfolio
the. best
Barbados
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 64
The way is nvidia - latest drivers fixed mari , but maya is terrible again . Now i should find this old bastard driver somewhere .
 
Old 01-17-2013, 04:43 PM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.