CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2013, 07:18 PM   #1
hensleyb
Frequenter
portfolio
Brad Hensley
digital illustrator
Encinitas, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 103
Need to buy a Mac for Maya

Here's my delima. I need to buy a Mac by February 1st. I really don't want to buy a new Mac Pro because Apple is supposed to be releasing new models later this year. I'm thinking about:

A) buying a Used 2010 8 core Mac Pro
B) buy a new iMac and then selling it when the new Mac Pros come out
C) buy a new Mac mini to hold me over until mid year, then use it as a render machine

What do you think I should do?

Thanks in advance,
Brad
 
Old 01-16-2013, 07:32 PM   #2
PerryDS
Everything Creative
 
PerryDS's Avatar
portfolio
Perry Shulak
Contractor, self-employed
Critical Fusion Inc
Edmonton, Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 763
Send a message via MSN to PerryDS
My advice, buy the 2010 system, you can later use it as an additional render engine.
__________________
Perry Shulak
Design, Illustration, writing and interactive media
www.criticalfusion.com
www.perryshulakcreative.com
 
Old 01-16-2013, 07:41 PM   #3
Artbot
Mostly Harmless
 
Artbot's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
Richard Green
The Man Who Sold the World
USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,122
Buy a PC instead.
__________________
www.artbot.com

 
Old 01-16-2013, 08:16 PM   #4
hensleyb
Frequenter
portfolio
Brad Hensley
digital illustrator
Encinitas, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 103
Thanks PerryDS.

Artbot, I've considered it. I used to work on PCs back in the windows NT days. I was constantly updating drivers and fixing bugs. It was a real waist of time. Is that no longer the case?
 
Old 01-16-2013, 08:20 PM   #5
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,124
For someone not doing anything weird, then it would work as well as working on Mac. If you want to get into gaming you can run into problems, but for 3D programs there's not much issue. Windows 7 is quite stable and does a good job of keeping up to date.
It'd be worth considering since you could get more power for the amount you want to spend.
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 01-16-2013, 08:44 PM   #6
DutchDimension
Think different
 
DutchDimension's Avatar
portfolio
Dutch Dimension
DMP/Environment Artist
MPC
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by hensleyb
Here's my delima. I need to buy a Mac by February 1st. I really don't want to buy a new Mac Pro because Apple is supposed to be releasing new models later this year. I'm thinking about:

A) buying a Used 2010 8 core Mac Pro
B) buy a new iMac and then selling it when the new Mac Pros come out
C) buy a new Mac mini to hold me over until mid year, then use it as a render machine

What do you think I should do?

Thanks in advance,
Brad


What are you looking to do? If it's just a spot of modelling for the time being, a Mini will do just fine. They are remarkably capable. If you're looking to do heavier stuff, like simulations and rendering, see about getting an older refurb Mac Pro from the online Apple store.
__________________
"Even the Christmas vacation will be darkened by New Zealand scripts…"
~ J.R.R. Tolkien, The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien, Letter 34
 
Old 01-16-2013, 08:54 PM   #7
hensleyb
Frequenter
portfolio
Brad Hensley
digital illustrator
Encinitas, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 103
DutchDimension, Thanks for your reply. I'm a 3D generalist so I do a little of everything. I just got laid off and I have the opportunity to support some of the clients from the company because they no longer off 3D services. By the way, I was using a Mac Pro 2.8 GHz 8 core with 10 gigs of RAM. I guess I'm going to go with a used 8 core unless someone has a better option.

Thanks again to everyone for weighing on in this.
 
Old 01-16-2013, 09:00 PM   #8
SheepFactory
Expert
CGSociety Member
portfolio
x y
Canada
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 16,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by hensleyb
Thanks PerryDS.

Artbot, I've considered it. I used to work on PCs back in the windows NT days. I was constantly updating drivers and fixing bugs. It was a real waist of time. Is that no longer the case?



Yes that is no longer the case. I would buy a PC and save money.
 
Old 01-16-2013, 09:10 PM   #9
DePaint
Banned
 
DePaint's Avatar
portfolio
Emre M.
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by hensleyb
Artbot, I've considered it. I used to work on PCs back in the windows NT days. I was constantly updating drivers and fixing bugs. It was a real waist of time. Is that no longer the case?


Windows 7 is stable, reliable & easy to use.

It doesn't have much in common at all with the bad old days of Windows NT (which was a server OS, more than a decent desktop/workstation OS to begin with).

I use Win 7 without any special antivirus software, and so far, no significant spyware/malware infections have occurred either.
 
Old 01-16-2013, 09:20 PM   #10
entropymachine
PRO
 
entropymachine's Avatar
portfolio
Cristiano Matos
Canada
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 153
Ditto for a PC/Win7. Freedom to build your own machine according to your own needs without having to spend enough to buy a small car for the same hardware or inferior is also a plus. With the saved money you could, i.e, setup a gigabit network at home
 
Old 01-16-2013, 09:22 PM   #11
hensleyb
Frequenter
portfolio
Brad Hensley
digital illustrator
Encinitas, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 103
Now I'm on the fence again. PC users, if you had around $3,500 USD to spend on a machine, what would you buy?
 
Old 01-16-2013, 09:57 PM   #12
darthviper107
Expert
 
darthviper107's Avatar
portfolio
Zachary Brackin
3D Artist
Precocity LLC
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,124
I would go for something like an i7 3930k processor which I would think is faster than the dual Xeons in current Mac Pro's. You could max out on memory, you could even get a Quadro 4000 if you wanted or one of the best gaming graphics cards. That type of system wouldn't even cost $3,500 though.

You could even do a dual processor workstation system with newer Xeons, like a LGA 2011 system with dual six-core processors would be within your range I think.
__________________
The Z-Axis
 
Old 01-16-2013, 09:59 PM   #13
PiotrekM
Know-it-All
 
PiotrekM's Avatar
portfolio
Piotrek Marczak
3d generalist
Warsaw, Poland
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 376
for that money...3 computers with i7-3930 (12 threads) with 32-64GB RAM, one as ws, rest for rendering.
Or 5-6 computers with i7-2600k + o/c.
or one dual xeon (24 threads) if you run fluid sims...
__________________
My vimeo clips
 
Old 01-16-2013, 10:26 PM   #14
CHRiTTeR
On the run!
 
CHRiTTeR's Avatar
Chris
Graphic designer extraordinaire
Belgium
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 4,500
Just be sure to get windows 7 x64 and not windows 8!
 
Old 01-16-2013, 10:39 PM   #15
hensleyb
Frequenter
portfolio
Brad Hensley
digital illustrator
Encinitas, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 103
Sounds good. I'm not a build your own computer kind of guy. Where would you recommend I order a prebuilt machine?
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.