CGTalk > Development and Hardware > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2012, 11:52 PM   #16
kunliu
New Member
portfolio
kun
chicago, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Thumbs up help choosing gpu

I'm an architect 2, and also gonna build my own workstation for rendering. I just read you guys post and i think they are very helpful.

Any advices on choosing the gpu? I think for me the most work are using 3dmax and vray.

Thanks a lot
 
Old 12-26-2012, 05:08 PM   #17
tswalk
Lord of the posts
 
tswalk's Avatar
portfolio
Troy Walker
USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by kunliu
I'm an architect 2, and also gonna build my own workstation for rendering. I just read you guys post and i think they are very helpful.

Any advices on choosing the gpu? I think for me the most work are using 3dmax and vray.

Thanks a lot



you might want to start your own thread instead to get a better response... also include some details about what you do, software, current hardware.. and what you've been looking at so we can make a better call.
__________________
-- LinkedIn Profile --
-- Blog --
-- Portfolio --
 
Old 12-26-2012, 07:05 PM   #18
kunliu
New Member
portfolio
kun
chicago, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Talking

Sorry I didn't say it very clearly. I have a very similar situation. I want to build my own computer too.

I'm considering using the computer to do some rendering and animation as the same quality as Alex Roman.

http://thirdseventh.cgsociety.org/gallery/839671/

I also heard some interview with him about his computer, not much:

"The level of realism in the TheThird&TheSeventh is stunning. Your render times must be incredible. What software and hardware do you use? How long is an average render?

I use 3DS Max and Vray for rendering, Photoshop for texture work, AfterEffects for compositing and color grading and Adobe Premiere for edit it all.

My desktop PC (i7 920) itís now the only hardware i have. Every frame rendertime may vary from 20 sec to 1:30 hr (720p) It all depends on how complex the scene is.

However, i invested a lot of time in scene optimization for rendering. I think itís the key for a flexible workflow."



And I find some information here very helpful based on the discussion between qwatkins and vlad.

I think i will go with vlad's choice for the main one only. About the render slave maybe i will consider it later. Here i got some price from newegg.

CPU:
3930K OC'ed to 4.8ghz 569.99

CPU COOLER:
H100 cooler, 94.99

Memory:
32 gb of Corsair Vengeance DDR3, 159.99

VIDEO CARD:
Evga 3gb gf580gtx video card, 499.99

HARD DRIVE:
120gb Corsair SSD 114.99
+ 2TB WD storage 239.99,

PSU:
850W Corsair PSU, 139.99

MOTHERBOARD:
Asus P9X79 WS mobo, 379.99

CASE:
Corsair Obsidian 650D case 189.99

TOTAL: 2390

The money is a little over my budget 2000 too, but still acceptable.

Please put some comments and advices, really appreciate

Best and happy holiday~
 
Old 12-27-2012, 06:45 PM   #19
kehlje
New Member
portfolio
James Kehl
Brooklyn, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
I don't plan on overclocking. I'm worried about causing undue stress to my cpu---I'd like it to remain alive for as long as possible. Don't all the pros overclock, though? Maybe I should look into it...

Ok, so here is my revised build:
.
  1. Intel Core i7-3930k Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 2011 130W Six-Core Desktop Processor
  2. ASUS P9x79 WS LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 SSI CEB Intel Motherboard
  3. EVGA Superclocked GeForce GTX 660 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x 16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
  4. CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W
  5. CORSAIR Vengeance LP 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
  6. Intel 320 Series 3.5" 120GB SATA II MLC SSD
  7. Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler
.
.
Look good?
 
Old 12-27-2012, 06:53 PM   #20
jojojo
Frequenter
portfolio
YF
Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 171
I'm on a similar rig, and what I'd think about is the PSU. I have a 480 W PSU with two HDD and one SSD. Runs perfectly fine for me!
 
Old 12-27-2012, 06:54 PM   #21
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.