CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 02:54 PM   #1
umiyo
New Member
Hiroshi Hoshimiya
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
macbook pro retina issue?

Hi everyone,

I was so close to order 15" macbook pro retina for maya, zbrush and adobe suite, but as I was doing last bit of research, I found this article.

http://appleinsider.com/articles/12...fter-efi-update

Has anyone here come across with this issue? I know I can return it if it does not perform as good as it should be, but it would be a lot of hassle to arrange a return and waiting for the money to come back.

It would be nice if someone can update me with their experience with retina macbook as it is out for some time now. How do you find it after using it for few months? Is it working OK after the latest update? etc...

Thank you
 
Old 11-19-2012, 04:18 PM   #2
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,002
I have a pre-retina 17" MBP and it's fine but Shawn from the Autodesk Maya team has a retina one and says it's fine. Just avoid that firmware update if you're concerned about it and wait for an update if there is anything actually wrong with the update, they will fix it shortly.
 
Old 11-19-2012, 05:05 PM   #3
olson
Houdini|Python|Linux
portfolio
Luke Olson
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgbeige
Just avoid that firmware update if you're concerned about it...


Since the firmware has been in the wild for several months a new machine might come with the buggy firmware so it doesn't matter what updates you avoid if the machine already has it. Not sure if Apple does the same thing but most other manufacturers keep previous versions of updates and software available online so you can revert.
__________________
http://www.whenpicsfly.com
 
Old 11-19-2012, 05:51 PM   #4
mustique
Expert
copywriter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,016
I'm using an 15" RMBP (2.7 GHz i7, 16 GB, 512 SSD) for 2 months with adobe CS, ZB and maya and it has been a good ride so far. With Zbrush, the fan runs almost constantly, but I guess this is normal.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex & more violent..." Einstein
 
Old 11-19-2012, 06:08 PM   #5
umiyo
New Member
Hiroshi Hoshimiya
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Thank you all for your responses.

Yes, I was bit worried about the new machines may come with the firmware update already installed. I might pop down to apple store and ask if I can revert back to older versions.
I would wait if I can and see if Apple release another update soon. My computer which I have now is acting funny past few weeks...it is over 4 years old and not really capable of running maya to start with.

mustique, have you applied that firmware update?
 
Old 11-20-2012, 12:19 AM   #6
ThE_JacO
MOBerator-X
 
ThE_JacO's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Raffaele Fragapane
That Creature Dude
Animal Logic
Sydney, Australia
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustique
I'm using an 15" RMBP (2.7 GHz i7, 16 GB, 512 SSD) for 2 months with adobe CS, ZB and maya and it has been a good ride so far. With Zbrush, the fan runs almost constantly, but I guess this is normal.

With ZBrush you are hardly bothering the videocard, so you wouldn't see the issue.
The September update issue seems to be connected to a mix of conservative settings to throttle down the GPU, and a mismatch in how temperature reads are calibrated.

If you sit the notebook on a cooling platform and/or are in a cool environment and nothing is clogged, you probably wouldn't even see the issue in first place.

From what I read about it when helping a friend (who DID have the issue), it's a matter of the latest update clocking down the GPU already in the 70s, and throttling it down to bugger all speed in the 80s. Too soon too aggressively. If you don't hit those marks, or haven't updated past October, you won't know of it.
__________________
"As an online CG discussion grows longer, the probability of the topic being shifted to subsidies approaches 1"

Free Maya Nodes
 
Old 11-20-2012, 12:33 AM   #7
mustique
Expert
copywriter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by umiyo
...

mustique, have you applied that firmware update?


I haven't applied that firmware. I don't know if it came preapplied or not.

Regarding the fan noise. Yes it can be noisy with zbrush and when doing rendering.
So the cpu alone is capable of doing some pretty heat on my machine in those situations.

Must investigate...

Edit: I have that firmware installed.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex & more violent..." Einstein

Last edited by mustique : 11-20-2012 at 01:44 AM.
 
Old 11-20-2012, 06:25 AM   #8
tuna
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
 
tuna's Avatar
Thomas Cannell
String puller
Venice, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,094
I had one, 2.7ghz/16gb/512ssd and recently sold it on as it wasn't performing as well as I, personally, expect a $3k+ machine to perform in Maya. I put the money to better use upgrading my desktop and will buy a Lenovo ultrabook (but not for CG!).

Things like the way Maya had a 1+second delay for all marking menus in OSX and slightly worse character rig playback performance than it does on Windows pushed me towards this decision. There were other OSX limitations on some software, like Houdini not having full openGL feature implementations that it does on win/linux, and some other software like c4d/modo not letting you navigate with the command button! Overall the experience was great for everything else except cg, so it had to be sold. Windows on the machine is truly awful.

You might be able to live with these shortcomings, however I didn't think the price was worth all of the many little drawbacks that I constantly encountered.
__________________
www.puppetstring.com
 
Old 11-20-2012, 10:43 AM   #9
umiyo
New Member
Hiroshi Hoshimiya
London, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
OK, I have visited apple store last night. The person I spoked to was not aware of the issue or not sure if I can revert back the firmware. Only thing he was sure was that all Apple software run fine and smooth. What he suggested was to get it anyway and use it for few days and if don't like it I can return it for 14 days. I need to think about that. It is not very comfortable to wait for over 2000 to come back...

For the price of macbook pro + little more, I can possibly get decent i7 3930K based desktop and macbook air to take outside. It might be better idea although I am sure that I can only use air for light photoshop work and possibly very gentle maya work. I really liked the idea of being able to work on laptop while I am out and other companies like dell's laptop is way too heavy to even think about carrying around. I guess 2kg is the border for me.

by the way, I have not noticed delay in marking menus. It might be just because I am on osx all the time when I am working, and not touched maya on windows for years. Studio I work for is mac based. I don't have any attachment for osx or windows though.

Thank you everyone. I will think about it. At least I may be able to earn few pennies on interest while I make decision. Time to move money to saving account for a bit.
 
Old 11-20-2012, 10:22 PM   #10
mustique
Expert
copywriter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,016
Turned off graphic switching from osx prefs, optimized performance through zbrushes performance preferences. Fan isn't as noisy now. The cpu performed on all cores plus its integrated gpu for the retina pixels which was too much work. Settling with that till the next firmware update hopefully fixes it.
__________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex & more violent..." Einstein
 
Old 11-20-2012, 11:19 PM   #11
tuna
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
 
tuna's Avatar
Thomas Cannell
String puller
Venice, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustique
Turned off graphic switching from osx prefs, optimized performance through zbrushes performance preferences. Fan isn't as noisy now. The cpu performed on all cores plus its integrated gpu for the retina pixels which was too much work. Settling with that till the next firmware update hopefully fixes it.



Use GfxCardStatus instead, it is a much more elegant solution to graphics switching.
__________________
www.puppetstring.com
 
Old 11-20-2012, 11:19 PM   #12
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.