CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 06:29 PM   #1
X-Ice
Frequenter
 
X-Ice's Avatar
portfolio
Marcel Kuzma
Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 111
Send a message via MSN to X-Ice
new system for Maya

Hi guys, I'm looking forward to buy a new system.
I'm doing following work:
- modelling in Maya / mudbox
- rendering in mental ray / vray
- postproduction in nuke
- texturing in photoshop and mudbox

My current system is okay to work with, but I just progressing with bigger projects and I think It's time for a new computer!

So that's what I thought about:



RAM = 64 GB
-> G.Skill Ripjaws Z 8x 8GB Kit, DDR3-1600, CL10-10-10-30@1.5V

Motherboard
-> Asus Sabertooth X79, LGA2011, SLI, CFX, USB 3, SATA-3

Graphic Card
-> ZOTAC GTX-670 4GB GDDR5, PCI-E x16 3.0

SSD
-> OCZ Agility 4 256GB, SATA-3, 2.5 Zoll

Processor:
-> Intel Core i7 3820 BOX, 3.6GHz, LGA 2011, 4C/8T


I have also a question about GPU rendering, what do you guys think should I buy. A normal Graphic Card or a Quardo for almost the same price? What is the big difference? And what do you think about 64gig rams... is it worth it?

Anyway you guys see I'm not the best if it's about hardware... But I didn't find any good source in the internet so I ask you guys.

Thx for the replies


CHeers X
__________________
xi-graphics

Last edited by X-Ice : 11-12-2012 at 06:51 PM.
 
Old 11-12-2012, 07:06 PM   #2
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
Hey man,

Looks like a nice build.

If your only going to spend around $350 on the GPU, just go with a non-quadro card.

64 gigs of RAM might be over kill for Vray and Nuke.

I would check out some of the new Ivy Bridge chips like the 3770K.

-AJ
__________________
 
Old 11-12-2012, 07:15 PM   #3
X-Ice
Frequenter
 
X-Ice's Avatar
portfolio
Marcel Kuzma
Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 111
Send a message via MSN to X-Ice
Alright thank you man! You mean that I can't us the full range of the 64 gig ram for vray/nuke?

Do you recomment to spend more money on a better CPU than on ram?



Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ1
Hey man,

Looks like a nice build.

If your only going to spend around $350 on the GPU, just go with a non-quadro card.

64 gigs of RAM might be over kill for Vray and Nuke.

I would check out some of the new Ivy Bridge chips like the 3770K.

-AJ
__________________
xi-graphics
 
Old 11-12-2012, 07:33 PM   #4
AJ1
User
 
AJ1's Avatar
CGTalk Forum Leader
portfolio
A J
Indiana, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,810
It depends on what your doing.

I've never used more than about 14gigs of RAM on my system with MR, Vray, and Nuke. I've read that some people have pushed 20 gigs on some large renders, but I think that's a case of poor optimization. A vast majority of my renders seem to use about 2-4 gigs.

The Ivy Bridge chips from Intel are the newest thing available, so I guess its natural to recommend them. The 3770K is the replacement for the 3820. Apparently the 6 core Ivy Bridge chip wont be out until later next year, so If you can afford 6 cores, go for the Sandy Bridge 3930K.

-AJ
__________________
 
Old 11-12-2012, 07:36 PM   #5
tuna
|||||||||||||||||||||||||
 
tuna's Avatar
Thomas Cannell
String puller
Venice, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,094
Avoid OCZ SSDs, they have a high failure rate compared to other brands. Go for a Samsung 830 or 840, or Intel/Crucial.
__________________
www.puppetstring.com
 
Old 11-12-2012, 07:46 PM   #6
X-Ice
Frequenter
 
X-Ice's Avatar
portfolio
Marcel Kuzma
Switzerland
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 111
Send a message via MSN to X-Ice
alright, I alsmost keep the same price when I change to 3770K with 32 gigs...!

@tuna thx I'll check that


Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ1
It depends on what your doing.

I've never used more than about 14gigs of RAM on my system with MR, Vray, and Nuke. I've read that some people have pushed 20 gigs on some large renders, but I think that's a case of poor optimization. A vast majority of my renders seem to use about 2-4 gigs.

The Ivy Bridge chips from Intel are the newest thing available, so I guess its natural to recommend them. The 3770K is the replacement for the 3820. Apparently the 6 core Ivy Bridge chip wont be out until later next year, so If you can afford 6 cores, go for the Sandy Bridge 3930K.

-AJ
__________________
xi-graphics
 
Old 11-12-2012, 10:03 PM   #7
sentry66
Expert
 
sentry66's Avatar
portfolio
node crazy
USA
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,291
I personally would still choose the 3930k over the 3770k any day for pro work. 6 cores over 4 cores and you can overclock both it anyway to even out the slight single-threaded performance gap there is at the stock speeds.

I use AE instead of Nuke and man does it love ram. Any one of my routine comps will eat up to 50+ gigs at 1080p

for 4k animation sequence renders, yeah, I'm glad I have 64 gigs of ram...
 
Old 11-12-2012, 10:03 PM   #8
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.