CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 06:52 PM   #1
rizon
more
 
rizon's Avatar
portfolio
Rizon Parein
freelancer
Rizon
Antwerp, Belgium
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 699
Send a message via AIM to rizon Send a message via MSN to rizon
New Imac a competitor for the Mac Pro?

I need to travel quite a lot next year, shipping the macpro together with a peli case is above 32kg which means cargo shipping, expensive. therefor i was wondering if the new iMac together with some mac mini renderslaves is a good alternative... it's pure renderspeed i am worried about.

Current Mac Pro:
Processor 2 x 2,93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon
Memory 16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC
Graphics ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB

New Imac:
3.4GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 (Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz).
32 GB Ram
__________________
www.rizon.be
 
Old 10-23-2012, 10:22 PM   #2
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,540
I'd be scared of rendering anything that took too long in that razor thin enclosure on the new iMacs.

Time will tell. I'll let others spend their money and see what problems pop up first.
 
Old 10-23-2012, 11:40 PM   #3
Navstar
Expert
 
Navstar's Avatar
N Parker
Mograph Dude
Los%2BAngeles, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,132
You might find these threads of interest. It's a little out of date, but since the Mac Pro hasn't changed in years, it's still relevant. It's a good way to think about rendering potential. Break down each machine to Cost per Cinebench unit.

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=952600

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=995528
__________________
----end of line

Last edited by Navstar : 10-23-2012 at 11:43 PM.
 
Old 10-24-2012, 09:13 AM   #4
rizon
more
 
rizon's Avatar
portfolio
Rizon Parein
freelancer
Rizon
Antwerp, Belgium
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 699
Send a message via AIM to rizon Send a message via MSN to rizon
Thanks Navstar! will check it out.
__________________
www.rizon.be
 
Old 10-24-2012, 09:58 AM   #5
penboack
Penboack
portfolio
Charles Kirk
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 103
The figures on the first link are too out of date to be of any use. However, the methodology is spot on.
Just create a spreadsheet with the CB scores and computer prices.
You may be surprised at the results.

The new Mac Mini with the Intel QuadCore i7 should have a CB score of around 6.4.
It will blow the MacPros and iMacs out the water for rendering power per buck!

If you are worried about heat issues in small enclosures buy with 3 year Apple Care!

Finally has anyone noticed this.
"Individually calibrated for true-to-life color.
None of these innovations would matter much if the iMac display didn’t deliver vivid, true-to-life color. Which is why we put every single display through an exacting color-calibration process using three state-of-the-art spectroradiometers: one to measure gamma, one to measure white point, and one to check the work of the other two. This equipment is tuned to meet color standards recognized around the world for precision and accuracy."

Source: Apple Apple iMac Design
 
Old 10-24-2012, 10:59 AM   #6
rizon
more
 
rizon's Avatar
portfolio
Rizon Parein
freelancer
Rizon
Antwerp, Belgium
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 699
Send a message via AIM to rizon Send a message via MSN to rizon
ThanksPenboack!

So basicly if i buy 3 new mac mini's and a new iMac i should have the render speed of my Mac Pro?

Apart of this, to render a still with vray with all the clients i will need the upcoming DR function, correct?
__________________
www.rizon.be

Last edited by rizon : 10-24-2012 at 12:55 PM.
 
Old 10-24-2012, 01:02 PM   #7
penboack
Penboack
portfolio
Charles Kirk
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 103
Assuming your current setup has a CB score of around 15 then possibly 75% more rendering power .

It is also a rather more flexible setup.
There are some downsides though, render previews will be much slower, as these will only utilise 4 physical cores instead of 12. 16GB of RAM might be a limitation if you work with very large scenes. GPU performance however should be better particularly if you go for the GTX 680M with 2GB VRAM.

What we could do with, when MAXON update NET Render , is the ability to use render clients when rendering to the picture viewer. You can do this in Vue Infinite using RenderCows. It would be great to be able to do something similar in Cinema 4D.
 
Old 10-24-2012, 01:15 PM   #8
rizon
more
 
rizon's Avatar
portfolio
Rizon Parein
freelancer
Rizon
Antwerp, Belgium
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 699
Send a message via AIM to rizon Send a message via MSN to rizon
Awesome! About rendering in the viewport being slower, is it an option if you render low res to the pictureviewer, will then all clients be rendering?
__________________
www.rizon.be
 
Old 10-24-2012, 02:34 PM   #9
fluffouille
Booh
 
fluffouille's Avatar
Sébastien Florand
Fluffy4D
Durham, USA
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,669
You'll need Net Render if you want to use all the clients, and without DR that means you'll have to use camera tiling, which is an option but certainly not convenient for previews (since you need to stitch your images back together).

Better just get used to render very low rez or do some region renders at full rez on one machine.
__________________
One on one Online Instructor for Cinema4D | Visit www.Fluffy4D.com for more info.
 
Old 10-24-2012, 04:44 PM   #10
rizon
more
 
rizon's Avatar
portfolio
Rizon Parein
freelancer
Rizon
Antwerp, Belgium
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 699
Send a message via AIM to rizon Send a message via MSN to rizon
@Sébastien was indeed afraid of that, thanks for confirming!
__________________
www.rizon.be
 
Old 10-24-2012, 05:29 PM   #11
joshfilms
Expert
portfolio
Josh Johnson
USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 953
Also, there's only two graphic cards to choose from correct?

I'm in the market for a new workstation and I've been eying the HP z820 but the new Imac caught my attention for the price and well I'd still be on OSX.

Cheers,
Josh
__________________
My Reel
VFXdaily
 
Old 10-25-2012, 02:08 AM   #12
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
Oakland, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,015
if you can wait for the next-gen Mac Pro, it will be out around Jan, from what I can tell. I'm getting one and I'll be reviewing it for Ars Technica.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 08:33 AM   #13
penboack
Penboack
portfolio
Charles Kirk
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 103
Do you really think Apple are going to continue the Mac Pro?
It doesn't seem to fit with Apple's "Anorexic" strategy, make everything as thin as possible.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 02:50 PM   #14
Venkman
Don't cross the streams
 
Venkman's Avatar
portfolio
Peter Venkman
Frederick, USA
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,540
None of the extensive rumor sites have any inkling of a new Mac Pro, especially one in such a close timeframe like January. Apple can't seem to hide their supply chain anymore. Surely something would have shown up by now if they are planning something for January 2013.

I'll believe in a new Mac Pro when I see it.
 
Old 10-25-2012, 04:59 PM   #15
basilisk
Lord of the posts
 
basilisk's Avatar
James Newman
Basilisk
Oxford, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 555
Send a message via AIM to basilisk Send a message via Yahoo to basilisk
Quote:
Originally Posted by penboack
Do you really think Apple are going to continue the Mac Pro?
It doesn't seem to fit with Apple's "Anorexic" strategy, make everything as thin as possible.


They could make a rackmount MacPro. I wouldn't mind a smaller enclosure as thunderbolt would allow some offloading of capability to external units. So long as it has plenty of other connectors for all my old drives and monitors. But really I don't need 4 drive bays and more than one graphic card slot. 1 regular HD bay, 1 small HD bay for SSD, 1 BluRay, 1 Card slot, USB 3, FW, ESata, Thunderbolt, HDMI/HDSDI...
__________________
:: basilisk ::
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.