CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2012, 02:35 PM   #1
axelldotcom
New Member
portfolio
axelldotcom axl
iasi, Romania
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
You've all been here... Buy a proper CGGraphics computer.

Hello. My name is Axel. I've been working with Photoshop for many years now and for the past two years I've started working with Adobe After Efffects and now I realised I have to do what I should have done many years ago and this is learn to work with a 3d program. So I chose Cimena 4d. It's all fun and cookies until the scene begines to get crowded or I hit the render button. My computer is too weak for what I need. So I tought "hey I should buy a new computer" actualy I want to buy a workstation. And since a new workstation is too expensive for my budget right now (1200$) I tought I should buy a refurbished one. And I found this one:


Workstation HP XW6600 MT, Intel Quad Core Xeon E5450 3.0 GHz, 16 GB DDR2, 147 GB SAS, DVDRW, Placa video Nvidia Quadro FX4600

I don't know what to think of it. I like the price, but I saw this configuration is kinda old... 2008.

So now I'm asking you. Is this going to be good enough for me? I am still learning 3d but I'm a fast learner.
 
Old 10-04-2012, 11:44 PM   #2
qwatkins
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
 
qwatkins's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Quinn Watkins
Interactive Creative Dir.
The Food Group
Salt Lake City, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 453
Send a message via MSN to qwatkins
Quote:
Originally Posted by axelldotcom
...my budget right now (1200$)...Workstation HP XW6600 MT, Intel Quad Core Xeon E5450 3.0 GHz, 16 GB DDR2, 147 GB SAS, DVDRW, Placa video Nvidia Quadro FX4600

I don't know what to think of it...
I would say you will be better off getting a new system with an intel 3770ish level chip in it than wasting your money on an old setup.
__________________
| Numquam ponenda est pluralitas sine necessitate |
 
Old 10-05-2012, 08:36 AM   #3
imashination
Expert
 
imashination's Avatar
portfolio
Matthew ONeill
3D Fluff
United Kingdom
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9,018
Waste of money, just buy the best gaming machine with a single geforce gfx card you can find and youll get the most for your budget.
__________________
Matthew O'Neill
www.3dfluff.com
 
Old 10-05-2012, 10:10 AM   #4
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,334
The Quadro FX series is outdated, current cards don't feature the FX anymore.
Personally i would get a Quadro for CINEMA since even though you get less bang for the buck you have way less trouble with driver stability.
As for the CPU etc, get a current 6 Core i7 setup ( i would get a i7-3990), 16-32 GB RAM and two fast SATA 6 drives for system and data. If you want a SSD, but don't go for SAS, you don't need that outside of server setups.
Cheers
Björn
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 10-05-2012, 11:53 AM   #5
DePaint
Banned
 
DePaint's Avatar
portfolio
Emre M.
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,156
I use a Samsung Laptop like this one for work:

http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/.../NP700Z5C-S04US

Its exactly 1,200 Dollars and pretty good for 3D work.

Then again, if you go for a desktop, 1,200 Dollars may buy you a 6 core i7 Processor and more RAM.

Good luck!
 
Old 10-05-2012, 08:58 PM   #6
hvanderwegen
Expert
 
hvanderwegen's Avatar
Herbert van der wegen
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 565
Honestly: getting a Quadro card is a complete waste of money for Cinema4d - optimized Quadro opengl drivers are available for max and maya, and traditionally AMD/Radeon cards perform much better than Nvidia cards in Cinema 4d Opengl viewport.

http://www.cbscores.com/index.php?sort=ogl&order=desc

Says it all, does it not? A Radeon 6800 outperforms a Quadro 5000 by nearly a factor of two under circumstances.

http://www.cgchannel.com/2011/10/re...ia-vs-amd-2011/

For Cinema4d a FirePro 7900 (can$ 780) is on par with the Quadro 6000 (can$3800). And you get workstation drivers for that.

This has also been my experience: amd's cards work better in Cinema4d. If you are thinking about the loss of CUDA: get an amd 7970 (or FirePro 7900) for excellent opengl performance in Cinema4d, dual screens quality screens (syncmaster SA850 is brilliant) for ~can$1800, and throw in a GTX 580 3gb for After effects, premiere and CUDA rendering.

Which is still less expensive than one silly Quadro 6000 (and the gtx 580 offers faster CUDA to boot).
 
Old 10-06-2012, 07:21 AM   #7
DePaint
Banned
 
DePaint's Avatar
portfolio
Emre M.
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,156
Hvanderwegen: His budget for the whole computer is 1,200 Dollars, so the graphics cards you recommended are out of reach for him, financially speaking.
 
Old 10-06-2012, 09:06 AM   #8
Srek
Some guy
 
Srek's Avatar
CGSociety Member
portfolio
Björn Dirk Marl
Technical Design
Maxon Computer GmbH
Friedrichsdorf, Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 11,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvanderwegen
Honestly: getting a Quadro card is a complete waste of money for Cinema4d - optimized Quadro opengl drivers are available for max and maya, and traditionally AMD/Radeon cards perform much better than Nvidia cards in Cinema 4d Opengl viewport.

http://www.cbscores.com/index.php?sort=ogl&order=desc

Says it all, does it not? A Radeon 6800 outperforms a Quadro 5000 by nearly a factor of two under circumstances.

http://www.cgchannel.com/2011/10/re...ia-vs-amd-2011/

For Cinema4d a FirePro 7900 (can$ 780) is on par with the Quadro 6000 (can$3800). And you get workstation drivers for that.

This has also been my experience: amd's cards work better in Cinema4d. If you are thinking about the loss of CUDA: get an amd 7970 (or FirePro 7900) for excellent opengl performance in Cinema4d, dual screens quality screens (syncmaster SA850 is brilliant) for ~can$1800, and throw in a GTX 580 3gb for After effects, premiere and CUDA rendering.

Which is still less expensive than one silly Quadro 6000 (and the gtx 580 offers faster CUDA to boot).


Quadro 5000/6000? FirePro 7900?
I would never buy cards that expensive, you never get out of them what you pay for.
Two steps down is just fine even for demanding work.
Cheers
Björn
__________________
- www.bonkers.de -
The views expressed on this post are my personal opinions and do not represent the views of my employer.
 
Old 10-06-2012, 03:34 PM   #9
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
Oakland, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,015
ya, I wouldn't buy a Quadro for C4D. My Radeon 7950 i7 3770k gets like 99FPS and the Quadro 4000 gets around 55
 
Old 10-06-2012, 03:34 PM   #10
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.