CGTalk > Technical > Technical and Hardware
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2012, 11:30 AM   #1
Madio
3D Character Artist
 
Madio's Avatar
portfolio
Dmitry Koval
3D Artist
Donetsk, Ukraine
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 72
Send a message via ICQ to Madio
Post Macbook Pro performance in Maya and Zbrush

Hi there! I'm going to bye a new MBP to be mobile and want to hear some comments about performance in Maya and Zbrush. Basically it would be used for modelling and texturing.

Specs:
-2.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
-8GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM
-750GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
-15-inch Glossy Widescreen Display
-AMD Radeon HD 6770M with 1GB GDDR5
 
Old 02-20-2012, 04:27 AM   #2
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
my new 2.5GHz 17" MBP arrives this week - it has that GPU but a higher-res screen than the 15" (get the anti-glare screen for the 15", it's higher res). I can post ZBrush and Maya benchmarks (my main 3D apps too) but only compared to my Mac Pro 12-core Westmere Xeon. If you're wondering how it performs in Windows, just extrapolate based on these tests I did:

http://polygonspixelsandpaint.tumbl...post/3353016788
 
Old 02-20-2012, 07:11 AM   #3
Madio
3D Character Artist
 
Madio's Avatar
portfolio
Dmitry Koval
3D Artist
Donetsk, Ukraine
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 72
Send a message via ICQ to Madio
I would appreciate if you show Cinebench test results for your MBP!
 
Old 02-21-2012, 11:59 PM   #4
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
I just got the machine so I'm setting it up. My 16GB of RAM hasn't arrived yet so here are the Cinebench 11.5 results for now:

MacBook Pro 2011 i7 quad core Sandy Bridge 2.5GHz: 5.81 pts
Mac Pro 12-core Westmere Xeon 2010 2.66GHz: 13.95 pts

Considering that desktop is not that old and has 3 times as many cores, that's a very good score.

OpenGL:

AMD 6770M in MBP: 43.11 fps
AMD 5870 Mac Pro: 34.98 fps

I was not expecting that. Same screen resolution (1920x1200) and RAM.

Last edited by cgbeige : 02-22-2012 at 12:04 AM.
 
Old 02-22-2012, 12:09 AM   #5
Madio
3D Character Artist
 
Madio's Avatar
portfolio
Dmitry Koval
3D Artist
Donetsk, Ukraine
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 72
Send a message via ICQ to Madio
Thanks for results! I've just tested my overclocked Phenom x6(up to 3.8Ghz per core), its result is 6.8 pts. So for such a low price for AMD, it shows some good performance!

Can you please test Open GL on MBP, mine is about 40 fps on desktop, want to compare.
 
Old 02-22-2012, 01:23 AM   #6
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
I posted above. 43.11 fps
 
Old 02-22-2012, 04:24 PM   #7
Cometsoft
Expert
 
Cometsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 620
Hey Dave,

How's the fan situation with that laptop using ZBrush? The last two generations of MacBook Pros that I've owned start their fans even on a fairly low polycount. Dynamesh almost guarantees it. I bought one of these:



Am not sure it how much good it does. At the least it disguises the fans, with it's own fan. But it makes the laptop a lot heavier so I can only use it in a chair with supporting arms.
 
Old 02-22-2012, 09:55 PM   #8
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
the fans spin up when you sculpt in ZBrush (it uses all cores) but the machine doesn't get noticeably hotter. not like my old 2008 MBP, which got really warm.
 
Old 02-22-2012, 11:47 PM   #9
Cometsoft
Expert
 
Cometsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 620
My MBP is a 2010. Don't know if it gets dangerously hot, but the fans drive me too crazy to ever find out. At least yours doesn't get hot, but I think I'll give up on using a laptop for ZBrush. Just can't handle those fans.

Going to have to figure out a lounge type setup with a giant screen, wireless keyboard and a wacom with a really long cable. My current MacPro makes no noise, however it's getting pretty long of tooth. Will wait and see if Apple is or isn't going to come out with a new MacPro.
 
Old 02-23-2012, 03:09 PM   #10
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
get some noise cancelling headphones and forget about the fans. Just get some work done.

note - I'll run a benchmark on Maya and ZBrush today and post it for others if they want to run it.

Last edited by cgbeige : 02-23-2012 at 03:33 PM.
 
Old 02-23-2012, 06:55 PM   #11
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
V-Ray for Maya 2.2 SSS head render:

Mac Pro 12-core: 4:33
MBP 17": 10:25
 
Old 02-23-2012, 07:12 PM   #12
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
just a note that I bought one of these two swap out the DVD drive and replace it with a big HD for my stock and textures:

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/ws/eBayISAPI...em=290605214827

I have an SSD as the system/apps disk.
 
Old 02-23-2012, 08:45 PM   #13
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
Create MME displacement map from ZBrush 4R2b

Mac Pro 12-core: 54 seconds
MBP 17: 23 seconds

produced the same exact map, so this shows how much faster the single or fewer-threaded operations are on Sandy Bridge MBP. ZBrush is faster on the Mac Pro for sculpting because it uses all cores but this doesn't.
 
Old 12-09-2012, 07:38 PM   #14
anthonyw
Veteran
Anthony
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cometsoft
Hey Dave,

How's the fan situation with that laptop using ZBrush? The last two generations of MacBook Pros that I've owned start their fans even on a fairly low polycount. Dynamesh almost guarantees it. I bought one of these:



Am not sure it how much good it does. At the least it disguises the fans, with it's own fan. But it makes the laptop a lot heavier so I can only use it in a chair with supporting arms.


There's no way this is normal behavior. It's a bug. If you look at the activity monitor ZBrush uses 100% CPU when doing the most basic tasks such as rotating the view. Using ZBrush on Mac in this state is a good way to fry your laptop. Funny thing is that using the Windows version on Mac via Parallels works fine. Pixologic obviously doesn't pay as much attention to the Mac port...

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...f=140&t=1082916

http://www.zbrushcentral.com/showth...-i7-CPU-Fan-100


Last edited by anthonyw : 12-09-2012 at 09:02 PM.
 
Old 12-09-2012, 10:23 PM   #15
cgbeige
Expert
 
cgbeige's Avatar
portfolio
Dave Girard
Opinions are mine. You can't have them.
San_Francisrococo, USA
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,001
it won't fry your laptop. I use my MBP for overnight renders even and it's fine. That's what the fans are for. And rotating ZBrush meshes in Windows only uses a tiny bit less CPU:

http://www.can-con.ca/tumblrpics/zbwin.jpg
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.