CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Mudbox
Login register
reply share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2014, 06:10 PM   #1
gimong910
Veteran
 
gimong910's Avatar
portfolio
Hongseok Kim
Seoul, South%2BKorea
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 65
transferring Maya multi-tile texture to Mudbox

Hi.

I am working on multi-tile texture in a object from Maya.
made 3 textures and placed it in UV editor on (0,0), (1,0), (2,0) position.

And made layered-texture shader, connected every textures on it with add blend layer.

It shows perfectly on Maya in a object.


Now, I am figuring out how transfer the object with the layered-texture from Maya to Mudbox or Zbrush.

Once I choose the menu from Maya "Send to Mudbox"
On Mudbox ,There is only one material and no texture displayed what I made from Maya.
 
Old 03-07-2014, 07:31 PM   #2
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,197
just name your texture with mudbox naming conventions and import the first tile as paint layer...

texturename_u1_v1.tif
texturename_u2_v1.tif
texturename_u3_v1.tif

mudbox will read in the tiles...
__________________
...
 
Old 03-07-2014, 09:02 PM   #3
gimong910
Veteran
 
gimong910's Avatar
portfolio
Hongseok Kim
Seoul, South%2BKorea
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by oglu
just name your texture with mudbox naming conventions and import the first tile as paint layer...

texturename_u1_v1.tif
texturename_u2_v1.tif
texturename_u3_v1.tif

mudbox will read in the tiles...





Awesome! it works!

one thing I am wondering is...
I used three layered diffuse texture and only one pattern bump wrapping on the object.

So the diffuse maps are working properly as you advice.

But when I import a bump map (no layered texture), It only shows a part of the object.

one idea of solution, I could duplicate the bump map, give the different name order like the diffuse map, bump_u1_v1.tif ...... but the bump is originally same map.

Is there any other way to use only one bump map to the object which has multi-UV map on Mudbox? In Maya, I could simply check the Wrap U, Wrap V making it repeated.

Thank you!
 
Old 03-08-2014, 09:02 AM   #4
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,197
yes you have to duplicate and rename the bumpmap...
__________________
...
 
Old 03-22-2015, 04:53 AM   #5
Mishkawy
New Member
 
Mishkawy's Avatar
portfolio
Kareem
www.mishkawy.weebly.com
Cairo, Egypt
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by oglu
just name your texture with mudbox naming conventions and import the first tile as paint layer...

texturename_u1_v1.tif
texturename_u2_v1.tif
texturename_u3_v1.tif

mudbox will read in the tiles...


Hi, I have the same issue, and since the problem is solved using your advice I am wondering how exactly do I do that? sorry, I know its a noob question.

Thanks
 
Old 03-23-2015, 03:13 PM   #6
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,197
just rename your textures...
and load the first image... mudbox will do the rest...
__________________
...
 
reply share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.