CGTalk > Software > Autodesk Miscellaneous > Autodesk Mudbox
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2013, 09:59 PM   #1
ArtOfSoulburn
Artist
 
ArtOfSoulburn's Avatar
portfolio
Neil Blevins
San%2BFrancisco, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,360
Mudbox on Laptop

So I've been asked to do a presentation and need to show mudbox on a laptop. However, my current laptop apparently won't run mudbox because of the graphics card (needs to be nvidia or ati). A lot of laptops don't seem to even mention what sort of videocard they have inside them, which is weird to me. Does anyone have recommendations on a laptop that will run mudbox decently, preferably not a multi thousand dollar one as this will be a single presentaion. Any advice is appreciated, thanks.

- Neil
 
Old 09-05-2013, 11:06 PM   #2
Asimov
PRO
 
Asimov's Avatar
portfolio
Thomas Williams
Freelance 3D Artist
Dudley, United Kingdom
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 65
Thumbs up

Hi Soulburn,

I use mudbox on a laptop. I have a Lenovo Dual Core i7 laptop with 8Gb of memory,
and it uses an Nvidia graphics card.

Lenovo are not the cheapest laptops, but in my opinion are about the best.

Asimov
 
Old 09-06-2013, 01:39 AM   #3
bilbob
Expert
portfolio
matt simecek
berkley, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 401
i tried to put mudbox on my laptop too, and ran into the same problem.

oh well. i don't think there's much to do about it without spending the cash.
 
Old 09-06-2013, 06:42 AM   #4
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,329
if you arnt in a hurry you could wait for the new mud version...
release should be next week...
__________________
...
 
Old 09-06-2013, 05:29 PM   #5
ArtOfSoulburn
Artist
 
ArtOfSoulburn's Avatar
portfolio
Neil Blevins
San%2BFrancisco, United%2BStates
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4,360
Thanks guys, looks like I'm gonna be able to borrow a laptop, so I should be good, at least for now

- Neil
 
Old 09-16-2013, 11:59 AM   #6
oglu
Christoph Schädl
 
oglu's Avatar
portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,329
now mudbox should also run on your old laptop...

Quote:
Mudbox supports the third and fourth generation Intel® Core™ processors with integrated Intel® HD Graphics (2500, 4000, 4600, 5000, and so on).


http://download.autodesk.com/global...n_us/index.html
__________________
...
 
Old 09-16-2013, 11:59 AM   #7
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.