Asimov
PRO

portfolio
Thomas Williams
Freelance 3D Artist
Dudley, United Kingdom

Lost resolution on Ear. How to add more

Hi all,

I posted this a couple of days ago and I cannot find my post. So perhaps I forgot to click something. I hope it doesn't show up twice. Please let me know if this is the case.

Ok have been using 3ds max for a long time, but I am very new to mudbox.

I am working on a head, and I used the grab tool to shape the ear, but as I have been shaping the ear I have lost the resolution in the ear.

I know I can hit shift D to add a new level of resolution, but isn't there a way to just increase resolution in the ear?

I didn't want the head to have more resolution than the ear. Everytime I hit shift D it increases res all over, rather than just the ear.

I am at level 4 now.

I suspect I should have shaped the ear before increasing to level 4.

My ohter alternative I suppose is to carry on detailing the face, and when I shift D to add more, I can do the ear then.

I am a total newby heh heh.

Asimov

Old 08-28-2013, 08:18 PM   #2
oglu
Christoph Schädl

portfolio
Christoph Schädl
Austria

do an auto retopo...
do a retopo by hand....
or create a clean base mesh...
or download a basemesh...
http://area.autodesk.com/mudcom/basem/old_man-1

Old 08-28-2013, 08:19 PM   #3
bilbob
Expert
portfolio
matt simecek
berkley, United%2BStates

i've had this issue too... one solution is to use the retopology feature in mudbox.

it works great at redistributing the mesh... but i have had issues with UV's after wards.

so use at your discretion.

another solution is to use the grab tool and slowly pull some of the faces back to the ear. it's obviously pain-staking and laborious.. but there you go.

Old 08-28-2013, 09:34 PM   #4
Asimov
PRO

portfolio
Thomas Williams
Freelance 3D Artist
Dudley, United Kingdom

Lost resolution on Ear. How to add more

Hi Oglu and Bilbob,