CGTalk > Sponsored Challenges and Awards > Past Challenges (Archives) > Eon (Trailer)
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Old 10-17-2006, 09:07 PM   #1
fifty3dragons
Know-it-All

portfolio
Wade White
Animator
Port Williams, Canada

Send a message via AIM to fifty3dragons
Eon (Trailer) Entry: Wade White

Wade White is entered in the "Eon Challenge" update: View Challenge Page

Latest Update: Finished Trailer: One ending is another beginning ...

My Website :: My Sketchbook Thread :: EON Trailer Challenge

Old 10-18-2006, 12:50 AM   #2
fifty3dragons
Know-it-All

portfolio
Wade White
Animator
Port Williams, Canada

Well, I just finished the novel yesterday and quite enjoyed it. I've never tried something like this before -- the challenge, I mean, not reading -- but I'm determined to at least finish and submit something. I'm planning on doing a 2D limited animation style trailer using primarily Mirage.

I haven't done up the rough storyboard yet, but I have been roughing out the beats for a screenplay as I would write it for this novel. In my thinking, the difference between a teaser and a trailer is that while a teaser is simply aimed at grabbing the viewer's attention and piquing curiosity, a trailer should actually tell a little story, like a min-version of the movie but without giving everything away (because what would be the point of that, right?).

Thus to tell a mini version, I figure I need to have at least a rough idea of the full version as I would write it. What would I leave out (from the story as told in the novel)? What would I include? What one main thread would connect the whole thing together? What characters would appear and which ones wouldn't? Which events need to happen on screen, and which would be peripheral to the story in movie version? Because I can only include in the trailer what I would include in the movie, which obviously, given the size of the book, isn't going to be everything.