Do raytracers keep track of the current IOR?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 11 November 2013   #1
Do raytracers keep track of the current IOR?

I've been working with 3D graphics for nearly 15 years and whenever I find some time to mess with rendering I still struggle with the simple quest to render wine in a wine glass. I think what confuses me is that I don't fully understand what a ray-tracer does and doesn't track for each ray in a scene. I use to think that the current ior wasn't tracked. A ray would hit a surface and bend the ray as if the current IOR was 1.0. When the ray hit another surface it would again bend the ray as if it's current ior was 1.0. However, I eventually came to a conclusion that the current IOR is tracked. E.g. if the ray goes from 1.0 to 1.5, then hits a surface with an ior 1.3, it would then make and adjustment for 1.5 going to 1.3.

Then this morning my life was turned upside down again when I stumbled across the wine glass scenario in the 3Ds Max documentation. Half way down the page . They say you need to set the ior of the wine to 0.8 in order to simulate the ray going from 1.5 to 1.3. If that's the case then what they're suggesting is that the raytracer doesn't understand that the rays current value is 1.5. This idea of precalculating/determining what "interfaces" exist in a scene seems flawed if that really is the case. In a static scene it might make sense, but in a dynamic situation you can't predetermine what to surfaces will interact with one another.

Can anyone clear this up for me? Thanks!

Nathaniel

Old 11 November 2013   #2
The problem here is the precision of the render engine and models.