Stylized Car Studio Lighting

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2013
Stylized Car Studio Lighting

I'm new to lighting and I don't have any clear idea of how to go about achieving certain looks and effects. The style pictured is what I'm going for, and as far as I can tell achieving this look is a painstaking process of lighting every surface and highlighting every feature. I don't, however, know where to begin as regards positioning lights, types of lights, background, etc. so any information from those who make polished renders would be greatly appreciated.

This is what I've been able to come up with so far.

Here is the lighting setup I've used. (It's a mess, I know.)

For this render I have used a cyc with a flat white colour; positioned long Vray plane lights abreast to the camera facing side and front end; placed a Vray plane light immediately above the car, and; placed a Vray plane light on the diagonal of the non-camera facing side. I'm not at all sure how to position lights so as to effectively hit the cars lines and features; I know this is most likely the key to achieving the desired effect, though.

There is a dearth of good lighting tutorials for this kind of thing, so any help, links to resources, .max files, studio lighting setups, tips, etc. would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

06 June 2013
I'd say pay attention mainly to reflection. Place 1 huge, huge top light and move it around until you get the reflection where it looks good. Then start adding lights on the side and move them to place your reflection as well.

Using some HDRI texture of an actual light in your rect light would add a lot to this render in particular as it will help break down your reflection. Something like the sftbx in this page.
http://alsen.livejournal.com/34226.html?nojs=1
(Sorry haven't spent that much time searching, there probably are some free ones around)