CGTalk > General Techniques > Lighting and Shaders
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 06:18 PM   #1
Theiamania
Veteran
portfolio
Theiamania Theiamania
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 98
VRAY Linear workflow: VFB sRGB and Convert image to sRGB fro RenderView

Hallo everybody,
assuming we are working in linear work flow, I can't understand which is the difference (or interaction) between checking on "Convert image to sRGB fro RenderView" in Vray Common tab, and switching on/off "sRGB" button in V-Ray VFB to see linear rendering or gamma corrected rendering.
Help please!
 
Old 03-10-2013, 01:55 AM   #2
Panupat
Expert
 
Panupat's Avatar
portfolio
Panupat Chong
Thailand
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,942
When you click sRGB button in VFB, it simply applies gamma 2.2 to your image. It won't care what color space your image is in. If it's linear, it will turn out correct. If it's already sRGB, it will become too bright. This button is only for "preview", the gamma curve won't be saved with your image. You'll always enable it if you work linearly and outputting linear image.

You can test what the convert sRGB for render view is doing simply by checking/unchecking and send image to render view. I usually leave this option off and do color splace conversion in the Maya render view itself (open render view, display > color management)

Last edited by Panupat : 03-10-2013 at 02:11 AM.
 
Old 03-10-2013, 06:41 AM   #3
Theiamania
Veteran
portfolio
Theiamania Theiamania
Hamburg, Germany
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panupat
When you click sRGB button in VFB, it simply applies gamma 2.2 to your image. It won't care what color space your image is in. If it's linear, it will turn out correct. If it's already sRGB, it will become too bright. This button is only for "preview", the gamma curve won't be saved with your image. You'll always enable it if you work linearly and outputting linear image.

You can test what the convert sRGB for render view is doing simply by checking/unchecking and send image to render view. I usually leave this option off and do color splace conversion in the Maya render view itself (open render view, display > color management)


Good Panupat,
clear now. I also prefer to use sRGB botton in VBR to see Linear o sRGB "preview".

Many thanks!
 
Old 03-10-2013, 06:41 AM   #4
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.