HMC#25 The Oceans - Cleaner shrimps at work on moray

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

05 May 2010
HMC#25 The Oceans - Cleaner shrimps at work on moray

Hi,

This is my first attempt at HMC. I've been lurking on this forum since the beginning, and recently thought about trying it. This subject is great, so here's my concept for my submission. I am going to create a diorama depicting two morays and many shrimps. The main idea is to reenact a shrimp's courageous attempt at getting food from the mouth of a large moray. I will start in Max, then move on to zBrush, and finish the render in Max MentalRay. Here is my main reference for the whole scene.

http://www.earth-touch.com/result.p...-at-work-on-eel

and the base mesh for the moray done in max:

Last edited by supernekosan : 05 May 2010 at 06:10 PM.

05 May 2010
Here's a small update, a first zbrush pass.

05 May 2010
Nice start and sculpt so far. These shrimps sure are courageous, to go inside the mouth of the moray eel like that!
Since you are going for a diorama, would be cool if you sculpt a rock with a crevasse or a sunken log since moray eels spend the majority of their time hidden at these kind of places, the head out, waiting for preys.

05 May 2010
I had some time today at work to finish both the first moray and the open mouth version.

Last edited by supernekosan : 05 May 2010 at 01:48 AM.

05 May 2010
Originally Posted by MightyReg: Nice start and sculpt so far. These shrimps sure are courageous, to go inside the mouth of the moray eel like that!
Since you are going for a diorama, would be cool if you sculpt a rock with a crevasse or a sunken log since moray eels spend the majority of their time hidden at these kind of places, the head out, waiting for preys.