HCR Mod# 40: Ancient Roman Sculpture: Winner!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

04 April 2014
HCR Mod# 40: Ancient Roman Sculpture: Winner!

Ok here are the results:

Thanks to all who participated on our last mini challenge.
We will have a BIG challenge soon.

Ok here are the voting results:

BEST ENVIRONMENT: Nikolaos Maragkos
Nikolaos Maragkos - Temple of Apollo Hylates
This is my attempt to model the Roman Temple of Apollo Hylates at Courion, Cyprus.
The temple has only partially been restored, in reality. Very little reference exists on-line and I had some helping advice from an archaeologist friend of mine, in order to complete it.
It is not a very sophisticated model but this is my first attempt at modelling something complete. I used 3ds Max, V-Ray, and Photoshop.
I hope you like it.

BEST RENDER/BEST WIP /MOST ACCURATE - Daniel McGrath

Beauty Render (3D DOF + Minor Post)

Link to Hi-Res: Please click Me!! (for some reason the link is redirecting to photobucket. I have to close the tab and click link again. This then direct links to the hi-res image)

Turntable Animation

Wires - As the final mesh would be decimated I wasn't too concerned with my topology. I jumped between a Basemesh to a Dynamesh to several Zremesher meshes.
Nevertheless, here are the wires

This is the link to the Wip thread

Comments & Description