CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2009, 08:47 AM   #1
naik
Hard Worker | Edge Dealer
 
naik's Avatar
portfolio
Naik Zoran
Lead Lighting & Rendering
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,521
Box2 Max2010 64Bit + Vista 64bit useless?

Hey guys,

is that right that Box2 on Max2010 64Bit + Vista 64Bit will
not work properly?

I just installed that on my system and mailed Oleg from Orbaz.
I thought that then only the realtime viewport playback will not work
but it seems that the whole package is not working
(all the PhysX Operators)

regards


NAIK
__________________
--
I'm drinking to drown my problems,

but these goddamn bastards can swim!!!
 
Old 10-13-2009, 08:57 AM   #2
naik
Hard Worker | Edge Dealer
 
naik's Avatar
portfolio
Naik Zoran
Lead Lighting & Rendering
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,521
Note:

I wanted to test some stuff, because a friend of mine told
me that for my purpose Box2 would be perfect.

Actually i wanted to create foam with many tiny bubbles - like in reality.
I though to create a container and then to fill that object with
perhaps 100000 geospheres and also to add some variation
for the scale. Then to add some softbody parameter to the bubbles.

Cool would be then to shrink the container and see how the bubbles
would behave....

greetz to Jonadb ;-)


regards


NAIK
__________________
--
I'm drinking to drown my problems,

but these goddamn bastards can swim!!!
 
Old 10-13-2009, 03:36 PM   #3
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,630
Physx is not available, at this time, for 64bit environments. Try using 32bit Max instead.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 10-13-2009, 03:58 PM   #4
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
I haven't used it in Vista64 myself but other beta testers have mentioned running in admin mode and disabling UAC seems to do the trick.

and yes you can use all the 32-bit flavors in vista64 without issue.
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 10-13-2009, 04:02 PM   #5
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,630
Right, but no matter what the Physx operators won't work in 64bit Max, correct?

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 10-13-2009, 04:23 PM   #6
OlegB
The Particles Caregiver
 
OlegB's Avatar
Oleg Bayborodin
Software Developer
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Quote:
Right, but no matter what the Physx operators won't work in 64bit Max, correct?


Not correct - for details see here - http://www.orbaz.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2265

Thanks,
Oleg B.
__________________
More about Particle Flow at Orbaz Forum
 
Old 10-13-2009, 04:38 PM   #7
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
Oleg built a 64 bit wrapper for the 32bit PhysX kernel and we have literally beat the sh!t out of it in xp64/max64 and it works really well, it will for some odd reason occasionally hang up when you use the play button and take a while to esc out so Oleg added a cancel out playback control, a workaround but it works perfectly, until we get a true 64-bit PhysX SDK, its the best PhysX in max since sliced bread.

The things he has done to get it working in 64-bit are great, having the extra memory address space itself is a Godsend
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 10-13-2009, 05:48 PM   #8
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,630
Thanks for the info on that. I didn't know you created a work around.

Edit: It appears that naik will still have his problem though since he is in Vista64.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."

Last edited by PiXeL_MoNKeY : 10-13-2009 at 05:52 PM.
 
Old 10-13-2009, 05:58 PM   #9
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
As I mentioned their have been quite few user that have been getting it to work without issue, most of it seems to have to do with user rights. Going to be upgrading one of my machines to win7 here shortly we'll see how that works out
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 10-20-2009, 04:49 PM   #10
feldy
Lord of the posts
Jeremy Kendall
Sr. FX Artist
Volition/DeepSilver
L.A/Chicago/Champaign, USA
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 528
Send a message via AIM to feldy Send a message via MSN to feldy Send a message via Yahoo to feldy
Did you ever see how it works with windows 7?
__________________
Jeremy Kendall current reel https://vimeo.com/84552621
 
Old 10-20-2009, 05:13 PM   #11
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
Still backing up the machine, still apprehensive to, I don't really want to "lose" my max9, I have a couple of small projects to finish.
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 10-20-2009, 05:26 PM   #12
OlegB
The Particles Caregiver
 
OlegB's Avatar
Oleg Bayborodin
Software Developer
USA
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 410
Quote:
Going to be upgrading one of my machines to win7 here shortly

Let me know when you do, John. I have a beta update 1.05 that should work on any OS where 3ds Max is able to run.

Thanks,
Oleg B.
__________________
More about Particle Flow at Orbaz Forum
 
Old 10-20-2009, 05:39 PM   #13
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
great, will do
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 10-24-2009, 08:21 PM   #14
PsychoSilence
3Delicious
 
PsychoSilence's Avatar
portfolio
Anselm von Seherr - Thoß
VFX Technical Director
Incendii VFX
New Orleans, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,480
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSilence
i got mz windows7 machine yesterday and im still setting up. ill let u know the goodness
 
Old 10-25-2009, 12:44 PM   #15
naik
Hard Worker | Edge Dealer
 
naik's Avatar
portfolio
Naik Zoran
Lead Lighting & Rendering
Munich, Germany
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,521
Thanks guys for all the comments..

hmm user rights... in my situation it can not be that issue because
i have full admin right in every aspect, or am i missing something?

Im also planning to switch over to Windows 7.
Would be great to hear if it runs fine.

Also does anybody know when Nvidia will bring out that Fix for the Pysx 64 Bit?


cheers NAIK
__________________
--
I'm drinking to drown my problems,

but these goddamn bastards can swim!!!
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.