CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
To minimize the ads you see on this page create a CGTalk account and log in HERE
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2008, 05:28 PM   #1
MakeMake
23lunes
portfolio
Bor Arroyo
Character Lead
BCN, España
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 70
Pflow Question

Hi to everyone! Is there anybody who can help me with something? I am having many problems to make something I think that should be kind of easy. I want to distribute a big amount of different trees and plants in a planet, like if it was the planet of “Le Petit Prince”. I am doing it with PFLOW and the setup I am using is:



The thing is that I’d like that every tree had a different rotation but I can’t do it. Every tree is placed with the same angle of rotation. Any idea? Thans a lot to everyone!!
 
Old 08-18-2008, 06:51 PM   #2
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
Set your speed to .01 and "Icon Center Out"

and your rotation to "Speed Space Follow"

add a send out test and copy the speed op to event 2 and set it to 0.0.

Ooops, I forgot to mention set birth op to vertices, verts random, or selected.
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~

Last edited by JohnnyRandom : 08-18-2008 at 07:12 PM.
 
Old 08-18-2008, 08:33 PM   #3
MakeMake
23lunes
portfolio
Bor Arroyo
Character Lead
BCN, España
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 70
Thanks a lot Johnny,

but I can't make it work, maybe it's that I do not understand it well, but I have an "Speed by Surface" and it doesn't give me the option to put "Icon center Out". The thing is that if I only put "Speed" in the trees they do not orient themselves properly because I need the "Speed Space Follow" to do it.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks a lot for your answer!!
 
Old 08-18-2008, 08:56 PM   #4
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
Sorry didn't notice the speed by surface operator.

Just use a normal speed operator in both events.

Also the send out test is important, it will kill the speed operator from the previous event and stop your trees from moving.
Attached Images
File Type: png SurfAlign.png (15.3 KB, 113 views)
File Type: png Screen.png (37.1 KB, 99 views)
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~

Last edited by JohnnyRandom : 08-18-2008 at 09:05 PM.
 
Old 08-19-2008, 11:31 AM   #5
MakeMake
23lunes
portfolio
Bor Arroyo
Character Lead
BCN, España
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 70
Thanks a lot again Johnny!

I do thank you your explanations. The thing is that, after doing everything you tell me, it still doesn't work and all the trees look at the same direction. I leave you here the FLOW in order to see if you can tell me something.

thanks!!

 
Old 08-19-2008, 04:32 PM   #6
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
Somewhat of a pflow shape instance limitation.

Well the easiest way that comes to mind, would be to duplicate the original flow a few times, then make a few copies of your tree (rotate the pivot on the z-axis so each tree has a different rotation) and assign each of the varied trees to each of the new particle flow copies.

Since you are using a greyscale as the placement in the position operator you can use that to avoid overlapping geometry.
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 08-19-2008, 04:52 PM   #7
MakeMake
23lunes
portfolio
Bor Arroyo
Character Lead
BCN, España
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 70
Thanks a lot anyway.

At the beggining I did it as you told me, but actually it should be possible to rotate them.

Does anybody knows how to do it?

Can anybody help me? Thanks a lot!!!
 
Old 08-19-2008, 06:01 PM   #8
decapitator
Veteran
portfolio
Jenne van der Meer
Unemployed :(
Zwolle, Netherlands
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 84
Send a message via MSN to decapitator
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakeMake
Thanks a lot anyway.

At the beggining I did it as you told me, but actually it should be possible to rotate them.

Does anybody knows how to do it?

Can anybody help me? Thanks a lot!!!
You could all ways bake the pflow (using http://www.scriptspot.com/bobo/mxs2...owToObjects.zip or something) once the direction is correct using speed by surface and then rotate then around a bit by hand (or a script if your that handy), still a lot less work then completely placing them by hand.

And im quite sure pflow toolbox #3 would do it as well but I dont have any experience with it.
__________________
Love and kisses your cousin Ted.
PS; My thumb hurts...
 
Old 08-19-2008, 06:04 PM   #9
PsychoSilence
3Delicious
 
PsychoSilence's Avatar
portfolio
Anselm von Seherr - Thoß
VFX Technical Director
Incendii VFX
New Orleans, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,480
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSilence
without toolbox3 u need a kinda hack...

note that my timeline starts at negative 1 frame. same goes for the particle birth. the speed>send out>no speed is the same as before BUT i added a SPIN operator with fairly high values and variation. then the spinning particles are handed over by an age test set to 1 and no variation. that is because the spin operator need an inital frame to have an effect, just a send out would send the particles along with out spinning at all.

the inital frame to spin is the reason why i spawn everything in negative 1: so at frame 0 wich will probably be your first frame of animation everything is spinned/rotated randomly already and the trees stay in that position from frame 0 on.

hope that helps a bit.

anselm

EDIT: find a max9-32bit file attached! just play with the FIRST spinner operator to have more or less randomness.
Attached Images
File Type: gif random_rotation_around_normals.gif (84.4 KB, 165 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip random_rotation_around_normals.zip (108.5 KB, 67 views)

Last edited by PsychoSilence : 08-19-2008 at 07:06 PM.
 
Old 08-19-2008, 06:14 PM   #10
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
I kind of assumed he wasn't using box#3, but ya totally possible

Nice workaround the Send out op,Anselm , I geuss I could have used an agetest
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 08-19-2008, 06:34 PM   #11
MakeMake
23lunes
portfolio
Bor Arroyo
Character Lead
BCN, España
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 70
Wow PsychoSilence, you are the best. Work's! Thank's a lot to both of you for the attention!
 
Old 08-19-2008, 06:37 PM   #12
PsychoSilence
3Delicious
 
PsychoSilence's Avatar
portfolio
Anselm von Seherr - Thoß
VFX Technical Director
Incendii VFX
New Orleans, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,480
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSilence
here´s a quick and dirty box3 attempt just in case some one is interested...

that one assumes the the object is not moving internally. like animated noise. AND should be baked out in frame one with the script from above (or teh other thread can´t remember...)

was a quicky anyways
Attached Images
File Type: gif flow.gif (68.0 KB, 85 views)
File Type: gif dataop.gif (27.7 KB, 91 views)

Last edited by PsychoSilence : 08-19-2008 at 06:41 PM.
 
Old 08-19-2008, 07:01 PM   #13
PsychoSilence
3Delicious
 
PsychoSilence's Avatar
portfolio
Anselm von Seherr - Thoß
VFX Technical Director
Incendii VFX
New Orleans, USA
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,480
Send a message via ICQ to PsychoSilence
edit2: now working properly...planet is still. rotation can be changed at any time desired...wouldnt rotate constantly like crazy anymore...

quicky again, but a desireable one

kind regards,

anselm
Attached Images
File Type: gif flow.gif (76.9 KB, 84 views)
File Type: gif dataop1.gif (26.1 KB, 67 views)
File Type: gif dataop2.gif (24.9 KB, 69 views)

Last edited by PsychoSilence : 08-19-2008 at 07:08 PM.
 
Old 08-19-2008, 07:31 PM   #14
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,998
LOL, always interested, john() = box#3.sponge

Cool
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 08-20-2008, 03:28 PM   #15
MakeMake
23lunes
portfolio
Bor Arroyo
Character Lead
BCN, España
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 70
Hi! I finally could settle the planet, and I can say the render is quite fast. When makeing small changes it a bit difficult because it kind of hard to recalculate continuosly every particle. Is there any way to make Backups of the events? for exampla, to avoid that it calculates the plants but not the new trees I am placeing?

Thxs a lot!
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.