CGTalk > Software > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 02:22 PM   #1
theta2
3D Generalist
 
theta2's Avatar
portfolio
Full Real Name
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 143
Rendering display shape "Lines"

I really like how the lines shape looks in the viewport. Is there a way to get the render to match that exactly?
 
Old 05-24-2013, 07:16 PM   #2
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
Enable the "Wire" switch your materials basic parameters. There are some size params for it lower down in the Extended Params rollout-> Wire Groupbox

I recall there is some shaded/wireframe material out there somewhere too.

Others have cloned the object, add a push modifier and apply a wireframe material over the base shaded object.

Or you can simply use something like PowerPreview and do a high quality viewport preview too.
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 05-25-2013, 08:21 PM   #3
theta2
3D Generalist
 
theta2's Avatar
portfolio
Full Real Name
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 143
If I use the wireframe shaded method, how do I get the length to match the speed? In the viewport, the lines get longer the faster they move.
 
Old 05-27-2013, 06:20 PM   #4
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
Huh? I guess I am confused. What exactly are you doing? How about posting a reference or a screencap or more in depth explanation, or a scenefile.

From your one sentence first post you appear to want to render a shaded wireframe, you make no mention of anything being animated
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 05-28-2013, 05:50 AM   #5
simply
PRO
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 75
Hey Johnny, i think Lagavulin16 meant rendering particles as lines like the particle display mode in viewport.
 
Old 05-28-2013, 08:21 PM   #6
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
Ahhh, sorry for missing the obvious! LOL

You could if you have box#3 or advanced data tools:
  • create a spline that has an animated length
  • use that as a Shape Instance+Animated Shape+Animation Offset = Particle Age
  • use a data operate to grab the speed magnitude of the particle do some simple math to convert it to a usable particle age value
Here is a quick wip at it, it does not perfectly match the Line Display Type but could be tweaked too.
Attached Files
File Type: zip max2013_RenderLines.zip (20.3 KB, 12 views)
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 05-29-2013, 02:29 PM   #7
theta2
3D Generalist
 
theta2's Avatar
portfolio
Full Real Name
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 143
John, that is awesome. Thanks so much for posting a scene file. I've always wondered how to do that.
 
Old 05-29-2013, 07:32 PM   #8
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lagavulin16
I've always wondered how to do that.


I was wondering too, that is why you got a scene file
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 05-29-2013, 09:56 PM   #9
JohnnyRandom
Configurator
 
JohnnyRandom's Avatar
portfolio
John Rand
still wandering the binary void
salt lake city, USA
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,007
I thought of a more accurate/better way, simply use a cylinder and the Shape Control sub-op that controls the height of the cylinder.

Grab the speed magnitude-> set its identity equal to the current ticks per frame (160 if using 30fps)-> Shape Control + Height

Much better
__________________
poof ~>Vimeo<~
 
Old 05-30-2013, 05:11 PM   #10
theta2
3D Generalist
 
theta2's Avatar
portfolio
Full Real Name
New York, USA
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 143
ahh, ok cool. When I get a second I'll try that out. THanks.
 
Old 05-30-2013, 05:11 PM   #11
CGTalk Moderation
Expert
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,478
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.