CGTalk > Software Specific Forums > Autodesk 3ds max > Particle Flow
Login register
Thread Closed share thread « Previous Thread | Next Thread »  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2013, 02:08 AM   #1
burntheskies
R
 
burntheskies's Avatar
portfolio
Rene C
3d /vfx artist
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to burntheskies
cascade in pflow

I am working with pflow with shape instances of animated flowers,

is there any way to offset the keyframe start of the instances with a controller, null geo or otherwise so that the animation is offset in a cascade?
__________________
Life is your work in progress
 
Old 02-25-2013, 02:29 AM   #2
Mondiola
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
You can try with collitions events.
Here's the link to a simple animation offset that i did with pflow

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/16178156/offset_animat.max

good look!!
 
Old 02-25-2013, 08:04 PM   #3
burntheskies
R
 
burntheskies's Avatar
portfolio
Rene C
3d /vfx artist
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to burntheskies
Thumbs up re:

I managed to figure out in some degree but in xsi and not max ( not a native max user) but im trying!

I see what you did there, looks pretty damn cool. and it works with groups as well. I was not aware that was possible.

I'll try to mess with this scene and see what i get, but that does help a great deal. I am worried that when the scene ramps to a larger resolution ( 5-10,000) that it will be significantly harder to manage. Have you had issues like this?
__________________
Life is your work in progress
 
Old 02-25-2013, 10:44 PM   #4
PiXeL_MoNKeY
Expert
 
PiXeL_MoNKeY's Avatar
Eric Craft
Dallas, USA
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5,634
There is also the Particle Paint workflow. It paints seeds that define when the data is birthed to give you that offset effect.

-Eric
__________________
"The Evil Monkey hiding in your closet."
 
Old 02-26-2013, 05:17 AM   #5
burntheskies
R
 
burntheskies's Avatar
portfolio
Rene C
3d /vfx artist
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to burntheskies
this is also very useful, thank you so much!

i am trying out the results right now.
__________________
Life is your work in progress
 
Old 02-27-2013, 01:55 AM   #6
burntheskies
R
 
burntheskies's Avatar
portfolio
Rene C
3d /vfx artist
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to burntheskies
update

ok so i tried to make my own version based on the nodes, a few things seem different.

In this case i decided to try using a custom deflector ( zigzag of a planegrid @ 4x1 segments)

and no matter what i change the particles seem to be getting "pushed" slightly in the direction of the movement of the deflector. now maybe it could be the deflector type, but I reviewed all the nodes that were plugged into pflow, and it seems to work but to a point. Im not sure what is causing the "phantom pushing".

also when an object of somewhat hi poly count (2000) per instanced particle,enters the simulation the scene crashes, so i must be forced to either lower the geo quality, or remove some elements of the animated geometry and replace with something else at render time.
__________________
Life is your work in progress
 
Old 02-27-2013, 11:44 PM   #7
galagast
Forlorn Battle Acolyte
 
galagast's Avatar
Jeff Lim
Philippines
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 572
You could probably try setting the Collision Operator > Collides > Speed > "Continue", that may remove the "Phantom Pushing". By default it is set to "Bounce".

And yes, PFlow can really take a hit when using very high poly instanced geometry. You would do well to optimize you geo's before assigning them to the Shape Instance Op.
If your geometry can make use of a Turbosmooth modifier, Pflow will respect its "Render Iteration" setting.
You may even try applying a ProOptimizer modifier to your high res geo, but remember to right click on the modifier and set it to "Off in Renderer" in order to view the "un-optimized - original" version during renders.

Hope this helps.
 
Old 03-01-2013, 02:39 PM   #8
burntheskies
R
 
burntheskies's Avatar
portfolio
Rene C
3d /vfx artist
USA
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to burntheskies
Pflow Update

So I tried a few things and basically have to work like this atm.

1, geo was dropped to about 1500 poly
2. sim was set at 2000 particle with trigger > animated particle
3* maybe there is a way to cache this like in ICE? i was looking at cache operator looks like that it deals w render/view just would like to see it without having to render a sequence, even rendering a view capture is pretty slow by standard. I'll assume I am neglecting something w max workflow.

had to lower final particle emit count as 5000 would totally no go.
__________________
Life is your work in progress
 
Old 03-01-2013, 02:39 PM   #9
CGTalk Moderation
Lord of the posts
CGTalk Forum Leader
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,066,481
Thread automatically closed

This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.
__________________
CGTalk Policy/Legalities
Note that as CGTalk Members, you agree to the terms and conditions of using this website.
 
Thread Closed share thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
CGSociety
Society of Digital Artists
www.cgsociety.org

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright 2000 - 2006,
Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Minimize Ads
Forum Jump
Miscellaneous

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.