Sketchbook Thread of jabuhrer

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

06 June 2010
Sketchbook Thread of jabuhrer

Hi all! I haven't been active on cgtalk for a long time, and I've never participated in the sketchbook threads, so please kindly let me know if I'm doing anything wrong (I think I've read through all of the FAQs and such - whew )

My background is in 3D modeling and animation. Other than life drawing, I've never been much of a 2D artist, but I'm now trying to teach myself to oil paint and also rebuild my atrophied drawing muscles. Over the past few months I've been trying to do semi frequent PS sketches during my lunch break and post them on my blog. I'll probably post new ones here too to get some crits. Anyway, here are a couple of recent attempts at oil painting to start off my thread. These are both from the past month or so:

Oil on linen, 9x11, from life

This was my first attempt at a (more or less) finished oil painting. I did a couple of quick studies before that, but I did a lot of struggling with the new medium here. It's a still life with a coyote skull that I set up in my kitchen.

Oil on linen, 11 x 14, after von Menzel.

This was attempt #2. It's a copy of "Friedrich Karl, Prince of Prussia" by Adolf von Menzel. The original was a fairly rough gauche portrait that I thought would make an interesting practice piece. Working with a new medium is definitely a challenge, but I'm finding oil painting to be much more natural for me than PS painting.

As for life drawing stuff, here are a couple of examples that are a little older, but probably the most recent and decent that I have to show

Critiques are most welcome! I'm off to look at more of your threads now.

06 June 2010
You are quite good. Keep them coming. As a small observation I'd say you should try to give to your oils more depth since they are looking kind of flat now. Good work!

06 June 2010