Sketchbook Thread of Gregoo23 2D/3D

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

03 March 2008
Sketchbook Thread of Gregoo23 (2D/3D)

Hi all,

I finally decided to create my sketchbook thread. I never went to art school but lately I decided to spend my spare time learning the basics of Art. I'm currently a 3d animator which I enjoy a lot, but i'm also really interested in drawing, paiting, sculpting, and so on. That's why I think this thread will help to me to learn from the others and get good feedback on my works.

Here are some studies I did from photographs of this really cool website : http://characterdesigns.com/index.p...epage=photosets

Another one:

My first attempt at portrait digital paiting. I started this one in monochromatic to work more on values.

This original sketch which i realize now looks better than the painting :d but again it's my first try so i promise i'll do better next time

This one is a recent head study in Mudbox. I used separate references for features but global head shape is from imagination.

I'd appreciate any comments and critics on my work. All I want is to improve so I'll try to post new artwork as much as i can here.

Thanks

Greg

Last edited by gregoo23 : 03 March 2008 at 08:32 AM.

03 March 2008
Quick master copy from David D'anger "Chateaubriand". I used a method I found on a great tutorial by zhuzhu, using big shapes to block shadows and highlights:

Comments welcome

03 March 2008
Hi Gregory!!... Welcome!... great start!. Always glad to see 3d artists in this section!

03 March 2008
Thanks Anand! Comments always refuel motivation . Your anatomy thread is really inspiring, great job!

03 March 2008
Hi Gregory
Nice stuff! Like the mudbox thing alot.
Welcome.

Cheerio Chris

03 March 2008