Sketchbook Thread of Narima2k

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 08 August 2012   #1
Sketchbook Thread of Narima2k

Greetings all. I suppose introductions are in order. My name is Teresa. I'm a long time lurker first time member, lol. Long story short, I went to school to study computer animation and didn't get much of it besides 25k in student debt.=( Now after puttering around for two years since I graduated I figured I need to do something or I'll never get out of food service.

My personal goal is to some how learn the skills necessary to apply for an entry level job in the industry by this time next year. A lofty goal I know because I got a lot of ground to cover before I'm anywhere near ready but here's to wishful thinking and beating the odds.

Any who... I was lurking around and stumbled upon Rebecca's Master Copy thread.I thought I would give it a shot. The practice worked for apprentices of antiquity; it might work for me. One of my problem areas is anatomy. I could do a good enough job with just pencil and paper given a reference and maybe a reasonably correct looking realistic human on my own. Whenever it comes to stylize humans of my creation... that's a different story. I suspect I could go a long way if I had an intimate understanding of anatomy or at least not have to rely on references so much. Here, I'll post some master copies done in pencil--only til the end of this month. Next month I try out photoshop or painter because the tablet and stylus is as alien to me as a third arm. In October, I'll dabble with Maya because my modeling skills are downright horrid. November, back to Photoshop/Painter. December--Maya/Mudbox.

The first is the Head of Water by Adam, Lambert-Sigisbert.

Overall, I'm okay with. Couldn't quite figure out how to describe the crown and the hair but it's decent enough.