Sketchbook Thread of Madio

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 02 February 2012   #1
Sketchbook Thread of Madio

Hi there!
I've decided to start my own sketchbook thread. As I'm a newbie to 2D drawing, first time there will be no impressive arts, but surely I'll do my best to develop my skills and become better and better. My goal is to understand human anatomy, gestures and apply the knowledge on my 3D character works in future.

As my first drawing manual I've chosen Loomis book "Fun with a pancil" so here will be shown some exercises done from this book. Also, I'm looking for some perspective studies, maybe someone can advice some good stuff.

Here are some of my sketches, to show the level I'm at. Done from photo references.

Now I've bought a Wacom Intuos4 M for my sculpting work and going to draw digitally most of time. So I'm also learning to use tablet, remember this

I will be glad to have some feedback and advices on my learning process, any critics and comments are welcome! Hope you'll enjoy may path

Old 02 February 2012   #2
Just started practicing on those heads from Loomis book and some things are confusing:
(I decided not to copy anything, but to understand principles and do my own concepts)

-it's hard to draw a clean circle digitally for me, hehe
-how to place chin, eyes, cheeks in perspective? can't catch it so fast
-first time the nose is in the center of a ball, but then it's eye line, really confused about it
-can't handle the proportions, it looks so simple in examples, but not in action

Here are some fast sketches, 2nd day on tablet, really hard to manage with it

Old 02 February 2012   #3
Hi there!
Digital Rembrandt autoportrait sketch, decided to distract from Loomis for short time

Old 02 February 2012   #4
Hi Madio