Where do all the AD's hide?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

Old 01 January 2008   #1
Where do all the AD's hide?

So I've been working on a rather small development team for the last 5 years or so. I've always been the Lead Artist and been the one responsible for the final say regarding the art in our games. But I'm an animator, and I went to school for animation, so i have never felt qualified to be the AD...even when asked. I have always felt like our games would be so much better if we had that visual guy that really had a great sense of shape and color and could really keep our look consistent. I've always looked at TV or Film and seen the work of AD's on projects there and thought..."they have it right...the AD is actually a visual guy, responsible for the visual aspects of the show". Typically, at the companies I've worked for, we have hired or promoted people into the AD position that are really just managers...more like Line Producers. So after the first couple years of convincing management that the AD should be a visual guy and not be a manager, I was given the go-ahead to hire someone for that position. So now you have myself, and 2-3 other talented Leads that are looking for someone to be the AD. A couple years go by and we realize, this is impossible...they don't exist. Where do these people hide out? Our goal is to find someone with strong traditional skills, someone that could fill the "Art of" book with concepts and paintings. Ideally they would be great at Environments and Characters...but most tend to focus on one or the other, so just having a bit of one with a focus on the other is probably the best we could hope for. But honestly, we're tired of looking, these people just don't exist anymore...they're either happy where they are at, or they want to just work as freelance artists, or they want to stay in Film/TV etc. I used to work for Sony and it was