ART THEFT OF A DIFFERENT KIND :: It Can happen to you too !

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

THREAD CLOSED

10 October 2004
ART THEFT OF A DIFFERENT KIND :: It Can happen to you too !

This is my story and I'm still trying to think whats the way out of this. Maybe you Guys can help me a bit.

here Goes...

I'm an artist like everyone else here.I make all my limited edition art for Large Format printing on extremely high resolutions (about 40 X 65 Inches and above) to be sold on Internet and Art Galleries In India.. Some are to be printed on Canvas some on Paper .. others on Polyester Vinyl. For printing these in these Huge Sizes I require Wide Format printers which I cannot afford to buy at this juncture of my career. So I have to use the services of the various Printing Studios here in India.

There are Studios with Big infrastructure who own entire Buildings to small time print shops with these wide format printers.

When I have to get a BIg printout in The above mentioned sizes, I write the TIFF File on a CD and take it for print to a "trusted" printing Studio. The Technician there Copies that file onto his Hard Disk and Gives the command for print.Under Normal circumstances, After that printout is done, I make sure that he has deleted that file from his Hard Disk and then from the Recycle Bin.

And I am all set with my Big printout which I can now get laminated, Framed, Sign it, Number it, Laquer Seal it, and Fingerprint with my hand on the back. I take all these extra steps after I get the Print At my studio to avoid any duplication.and to make this art More authentic and valuable.

I never leave my CDs with anyone and never Email Hi res files.

Now what this Printing studio did with me is very Interesting.