What to do as a (poor) cg beginner?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

3 Weeks Ago
What to do as a (poor) cg beginner?

Hello! This is my first time on this website. If this isn't the place to ask these questions, please let me know. Thank you!

Recently i've felt very discouraged, about my progress, and not having much to show for it. My education has  mostly been self taught/youtube tutorials, and while a lot are very helpful, I don't really have anyone to ask when I get stuck, and the difficult "waiting days for any responses" thing,  so most of the time my projects go in the trash bin, and I don't finish anything. I  was thinking that if I spend money on courses/academies, I could possibly see progress from the interactive-ness of that experience, but it also raised a few questions for me;

"If i'm going to pay to take this seriously and improve, would it be better to go all the way and get industry software?"
Right now i'm only using blender, and the reason I started was to find a free alternative to become a cg artist, but I wondered,  if i'm going to spend money to get education, should I just buy everything including industry software as well? Should I continue using it? 

"Where will I get the money?"