Buying a new laptop (confusion), what to buy? mac/pc help!

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

01 January 2018
Buying a new laptop (confusion), what to buy? mac/pc help!

hey guys,

so my laptop is getting old and Im buying a new one, but Im completely confused about what to buy...

Im a visual artist and I work in video of different forms. 
So I make things like videos but also projection mappings and video installations and live cinema with multiple outputs etc.
Most of my material is made using cinema 4d and after effects, and my output is often processed in software like modul8 and madmapper or Maxmsp, touch designer etc.

Im currently a mac user and have been for quite a time,
(I now have a macbook pro 2015, 15' 2,5 ghz, 16gb ram,  nvidia gforce 750 2gb) 
so Im used to the mac system, and I do like it, so the natural thing for me would be to get a mac,
but to get a new mac that is better than what I have I would have to pay at least 4000 euros, and still not having something that great, which also -as it is mac- is kindof hard to upgrade, but I could get a pc with a lot better specs for 2-3000 euros, so Im thinking about making the switch to pc.
But, its a whole new world, so what I am basically asking is what to get? 

I do a lot of rendering and work at home, but also a lot of things on location an "on the way", so desktop is not an option.

Im currently thinking in the lines of getting a razerblade,
and then they have this razor core, which seams like a neat option but Im not really sure what good it would do me as all the examples and reviews I find are all based on gaming, and since I do not do any gaming, this seems irrelevant somehow.

so if anyone has a good idea I would be very grateful to hear it.

Also I would be very interested in hearing ppls experience of switching from mac to pc.

thanks!