Rendering Engine for a college student?

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

REPLY TO THREAD

01 January 2018
Rendering Engine for a college student?

So I want to get some portfolio pieces up and running, and right now, I just make things and put them in Unreal Engine. They look great, but I want to take my pieces to the next level, to compete with those on ArtStation. As a college student, I have very very very limited funding, so the huge price tags on the rendering engines are very daunting to me. Here are the three I'm looking at:

1. Octane
2. VRay
3. Keyshot
4. Cinema4D

Keyshot has a cheap version through ZBrush (which I have the educational license for), which is fairly appealing, and Octane in and of itself is quite cheap. VRay and Cinema4D are on another level in terms of price (unless you count the full version of Keyshot). I also can use IRay right now through Substance Painter, but I need to work with it more before I get any good results. I have experience with just about every other part of the "pipeline." Modeling > Retop > UV > Texture > Bake > etc., but I'm missing the final rendering step. Any advice on which one to get? Or if there's another path you recommend based on my situation?

01 January 2018
What's your main 3D software? You can probably render things just fine there, for example with 3ds Max you can use Mental Ray or Arnold in the latest version.

If you're working in game development then showing something looking nice in a game engine is fine. A lot of people also use Marmoset Toolbag to do renders of game assets, you can bring a game asset in there and get a nice render without too much work.

01 January 2018