New here - Looking for feedback to improve

Become a member of the CGSociety

Connect, Share, and Learn with our Large Growing CG Art Community. It's Free!

3 Weeks Ago
New here - Looking for feedback to improve

Hi Everyone, I am Jozf and I am fairly new to 3D. Looking around this place I feel like a little leaguer watching his first big league game.

Any input is welcome - thanks in advance

3 Weeks Ago
Your models look okay for a total beginner taking baby steps in 3D. You have some sense of scale and proportion.

My recommendation would be to try following a box modeling/subdivision modeling tutorial next.

All your models use the most basic modeling techniques so far.

Challenge yourself with something more advanced, like box modeling a human hand for example.

Also when rendering your objects, always place a light with soft shadows somewhere above your object (but not directly vertically above it).

Otherwise your objects will look like early 3D stuff from the 1980s/1990s.

What 3D software are you on?

3 Weeks Ago
Student version of Autodesk Maya 2016. I have access to ZBrush but coming from Maya, ZBrush baffles me

Honestly, even posting here scares the crap out of me......

3 Weeks Ago
Everyone starts somewhereIt's if you can get past the middle that counts. Feel free to start some post in the WIP forum. Whatever level you are there are people to help.

Cheers

2 Weeks Ago
Hi Joseph,

Thanks for taking the first step and sharing your work! A lot of beginners never do that, and they will toil for years without making progress. Since progress is your goal, some tips below:

- Lose the checkerboards